Kale Chips

OK so… I’ll go ahead and admit that sometimes I am a giant snobby bitch when it comes to food. I really don’t like “diety” foods and I get somewhat annoyed with “healthy” recreations of unhealthy foods. For this reason, I was really reluctant to get into Kale Chips despite their growing popularity. A few months ago, however, I bought some  at the grocery store (thinking maybe I was wrong)… I could not have been more disappointed. TOTALLY GROSS! They were covered in fake vegan cheese and WAY to much salt. Hard as a rock and just terrible UGH!! I thought I had confirmed my hatred for kale chips and solidified my argument against healthy junk food.

But then, over Christmas, my sister-in-law made a batch fresh and insisted that I try one. It was absolutely amazing! Not attempting to be a cheese curl, not trying to imitate a potato chip, just amazing amazing crispy baked kale! SO SO GOOD! This is the recipe that she made and I have made them probably 3 times already since then. Overall I couldn’t be happier with this super simple recipe — so happy in fact that I added a Snack category to the blog… who knows maybe more paleo snack recipes will start surprising me!

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • dash of fresh ground salt
Method
Wash and dry the Kale. DRY IT WELL!!!! Beat it against a cloth towel if needed… get the water off of the kale before you put it in the oven. That is important, so do it (otherwise your house will smoke up and the kale will just steam). Cut the leafy bits from the stems and cut them into bite size portions. Throw them in a bowl and toss with olive oil. Arrange them on a cookie sheets, sprinkle with salt and throw them in the oven for about 10 minutes or until browned and crispy. Let cool for a couple minutes before serving. I serve them in a big bowl fresh out of the oven for guests, and they are gone in a matter of minutes.
One thought on “Kale Chips

  1. I agree! I made these the other day with a little bit of vinegar as well and will be making more. I occasionally eat the store ones, but they’re way better homemade. I don’t want to eat fake cheese pieces, I want to taste the kale because I actually like that! Not everything has to be smothered in cheese to taste good.

Leave a Reply

