Thai Basil ‘Noodles’

A few weeks ago I had a dinner party, at which I served a paleo alternative to Pad-Thai (inspired by Katie & Noah’s AMAZING addition to our box’s last paleo potluck). The Pad-Thai was an epic success at the dinner party — my friends loved it and I was very proud to introduce them to a healthier version of everyone’s favorite take out food. The dinner party version was made with a sauce made of almond butter, coconut milk & honey. Since then however, I have cut nuts & honey out of my diet (I’m working at lowering my body fat, and since my fat loss has slowed as my body has grown used to the paleo diet, that means no dairy, no sugars, no fruits, and no nuts (for now)). I was a bit worried I was going to have to wait another 3 months to eat this deliciousness. But, turns out… NOT TRUE!  Today, I made a similar version without the nuts and honey and it is equally as awesome! It’s totally different from the original, and it’s not Pad-Thai (because it’s not super sweet and nutty), but it’s still delicious and it still satisfied my (undying) need for comforting Thai takeout food.

I would highly recommend giving this recipe a shot, it is seriously awesome and easy to make. Also, if you are into nuts and honey, perhaps go ahead and add them in to make it more of an official Pad-Thai.

Ingredients

  • 1 medium sized spaghetti squash
  • 8oz chicken breast
  • 1 glove garlic
  • 1/4 cup sliced onion
  • 1/4 cup sliced bell peppers
  • Large handful of basil
  • smaller handfull of cilantro
  • 1/2 can coconut milk
  • 1/2 tsp fish sauce
  • salt to taste
  • **Optional** 1 tbsp almond butter
  • **Optional** 1 tsp honey
  • Sprouts, Basil, & lime for garnish

Method

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Cut the spaghetti squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Throw the two halves in the oven (cut sides up) and cook for about 30 minutes or until the squash has softened.

While the squash is cooking, begin saute’ing everything else in a large skillet — First, slice the chicken breast and throw them in with a bit of olive oil. Cook until it is cooked through. Add the peppers, onions, & garlic,  saute for 10 minutes or until the veggies have softened a bit.

When the squash is finished – scoop the spaghetti squash into the chicken/veggies pan and then add the coconut milk and fish sauce.  Mix it up until the strands of squash come apart and it looks like pasta. Simmer for about 5 minutes. Mix in the basil & cilantro before you are ready to serve.

Serve in a bowl topped with bean sprouts a few leaves of fresh basil and a lime wedge.

 

p.s. I absolutely love spaghetti squash. I discovered it about a month ago and it is rocking my world!!!

2 thoughts on “Thai Basil ‘Noodles’

  1. Sounds delicious! Is there any squash left after you remove the strands from it? If so, what do you do about that?

    • There isn’t any left over, just the skin — which I always feel like maybe there is something to do with, but I don’t know what, so I just toss them.

Leave a Reply

