WOD Log & Chili Recipe

Warmup

Some crazy ass lunges and an epic game of leap frog. WTF?!

Partner WOD

3 Rounds For Time:
8 130m Hurricane Runs (20# sand bag)
60 Wall Ball Shots (6# ball)

24:08

This morning I was partnered up with Traci for the WOD. I always love partner WODs, maybe because I love the enthusiasm of cheering each other on, or maybe because I love the rest time in between sets ūüėČ Either way, the WOD was super fun, albeit LOOOOOONG and grueling. We went light on the weights because I was scared of reawakening my shoulder issues, but I think I could have gone a bit heavier on everything.¬†Now I know.

This was my 4th WOD of ‘Crush Week’ and my body is feeling it at this point. A good Crush Week overall though, and I think the best I’ve performed in one so far. I’ve noticed myself not being so scared of WODs anymore (something that used to happen all the time when I first started). I feel like I am able to handle what comes up every day for the most part lately, which makes me very happy. Some of this week’s WODs. however, have made me cringe for a second when I check the website (today’s was one of them). ¬†I was a bit¬†surprised¬†that this week has been so¬†met-con¬†heavy, for some reason I always thought Crush Week was more about heavy lifting. Guess not, because I did an awful lot of running, body weight movements, and double unders over the past week. Additionally, most of the WODs this week have taken over 20 minutes to complete. Anyway it’s been a super fun week and it’s actually nice to not be lifting so much weight after last weeks 1rep max tests. I’m looking forward to a solid back off week, but at the same time DYING to get back into the lifting cycle!

Post WOD food – Paleo Chili

I made a giant pot of this chili last night, and had a big bowl of it after my WOD this morning. This was probably the best (and easiest) chili I’ve ever made. It took about 30 minutes to make and didn’t require much work at all. I didn’t take a picture, sorry. Anyway ¬†SUPER easy recipe that makes some god damned delicious chili.

Makes about 6 servings

Ingredients

  • 2lb organic grass fed ground beef
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1/2 giant vidalia onion (or 1 whole yellow onion), chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 jalape√Īo¬†pepper, finely chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 2-3 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 12oz can pumpkin puree
  • 1-2 cups water (add as needed to your desired soupiness)
  • salt to taste
Method

Heat the olive oil in a large pot on the stove top. Add the ground beef and cook until browned and cooked through. Add everything except the water & salt & stir. Slowly add the water until it is the thickness that you like. Simmer for about 15-20 minutes or until the veggies have softened. Salt to taste.

Easy right?

Leave a Reply

