Sausage & Seafood Chowder

I just made a very similar chowder for dinner, so I thought I would repost this oldy but goodie 🙂

_________

After a week of sunshine and grilling in San Diego, I was ready to embrace the cold NYC weather by curling up on the couch and sinking into a steaming hot bowl of East Coast utopia, CHOWDER!

Growing up along the beautiful shores of South Jersey, my family is a BIG water family. My siblings and I grew up fishing, crabbing and clamming and therefore ate a LOT of chowder. My Gramma just might be the world master of making clam chowder, and I just might be the world master of eating it. This was the first time I’ve made this specific type of chowder (usually I just do clams, but I was feeling ambitious) and it turned out awesome. The sausage is a great addition! This recipe doesn’t include potatoes or corn like my Gramma’s usually does, but I think it would make her proud anyway.

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 lb of thick sliced bacon, chopped
  • 1 large Italian sausage, meat removed from casing
  • 1 can of baby clams (and the juice – the juice is important)
  • 1 filet of fish, cut into small pieces (I used tilapia)
  • 10 medium sized shrimp, (I used pre-pealed, uncooked, frozen shrimp)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 carrots, sliced
  • 2 ribs of celery, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, pressed
  • 1/2 bunch of kale
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped parsley
  • 2 bay leaves
  • a small sprig of rosemary
  • a couple sprigs of thyme
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 4 cups of water
  • 4 tbsp of heavy cream or coconut cream (depending on your stance on dairy)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method

Heat a large cooking pot on the stove top to medium high. Cook the bacon, sausage, garlic and onions until the meat is cooked through and the onions are translucent. Add the olive oil, tomatoes, celery, parsley and carrots and stir. Add the seafood, and the can of clams and keep stirring. Lower the heat to medium and saute until the shrimp are pink and the fish flakes apart. Add the water, herbs, and kale. Bring to a boil and then lower to a simmer. Simmer until the carrots are softened. When the stew seems cooked, add the cream and stir again. Salt to taste and serve hot.

This pot will probably make 6-8 servings. I put mine in tupperware containers to bring to work for lunch over the next few days. YUM!

Leave a Reply

