“Lana, what the fuck happened to you?

Hey Dudes. So yeah, I kinda disappeared off the map for a while huh? Since a few people have asked what has been going on, and where I’ve been I thought I’d do a little write up about it. In a nut shell, I switched gyms, I had a major life revelation, I changed my diet a bit, and … then I kinda forgot to post on my blog 😉

Remember back in May when I said I had injured my shoulder at CrossFit and I was going to take a little time off to learn how to lift properly and see what I was doing wrong? No? Oh, well… it was a while ago. Let me refresh your memory…

“Taking a Break from CrossFit :(

I’ve decided I’m going to finish up this week’s Front Squats and Active Recovery and then take some time off from the box to fully get my shoulder healed and back to normal. I’m not really happy about it, but I think it’s the best thing I can do at the moment. ::pout::

I’d like to spend a couple weeks resting/icing and then a couple weeks focusing hard on my form and what I’m doing to continually hurt my shoulder. I’ll probably work with a coach on this.”

In which Lana fixes her shoulder and then disappears from CFSBK:

From there, I set up an appointment with Dr. Jason Fidler to look at my busted shoulder. Turns out I had a small tear in my muscle and bursitis in my shoulder joint. Ouch! Jason did some fantastic work on me and told me to take it easy for a week or so, which I did. After a week of rest, to follow up with the second goal I set “focus hard on my form” — I moved over to South Brooklyn Weightlifting Club to work with Coach Paulie Steinman for a couple of weeks. For reference: Paulie is a competitive power lifter, a certified Starting Strength coach, and a USAW certified club-level Olympic weightlifting coach. SBWC is also a USAW registered Olympic weightlifting club, and it is the only dedicated Olympic weightlifting and power lifting gym in the 5 boroughs of New York. Pretty cool huh?! Anyway, the whole experience was amazing. I learned (and am still learning) SO MUCH about lifting from Paulie and am a much much much better lifter because of the time I’ve spent working with him. Originally, I had intended to go back to CrossFit once I got my shoulder figured out, but after a few weeks of seeing my strength grow so quickly at SBWC, I decided to stay (so that’s why you never see me at the box anymore). I will be competing in the USAPL New Jersey State Powerlifting Championships this August (hopefully) in the 148# weight class. My goals for the meet are 225# squat, 115# bench, 250# deadlift. I am super fucking stoked about it.

In which Lana starts training to become a Powerlifting and Olympic Weightlifting coach:

After about a month with Paulie, I realized just how much I loved his gym, the dedication of his lifters, and the quality of coaching he provides. I decided to pursue a nagging thought that had been with me since I first started lifting weights, to become a coach. Considering that I had put a solid decade of my life toward becoming an Architect, this was a pretty big existential crisis for me. Though, at this point, it’s one that is making me happier every day. I discussed my existential crisis with Coach Paulie for a while and decided to go for it. Since then, Paulie has been training me to coach at SBWC and the experience has been great. I will be taking the Starting Strength Seminar with Mark Rippotoe this September and will hopefully become a certified Starting Strength coach soon after.

In which Lana switches up her diet in order to lift more weight:

What does all this mean in terms of diet & paleo? Well, I’ve made some changes to my diet since my goals have shifted from fat loss to muscle gain. Primarily, I’ve started including a lot more carbohydrates into my life – specifically white potatoes, plantains, sweet potatoes, and brown rice. I limit these foods to my pre/post workout meals and so far, so good! My numbers are up. I’ve put on 5-10 pounds since switching, but my body fat percentage has stayed about the same. So YAY! I am getting jacked.  Additionally, I’ve added dairy back into my life to get some extra calories. Pretty happy with it all.

So yeah, that’s what the fuck happened to me.

🙂

2 thoughts on ““Lana, what the fuck happened to you?

  1. Holy cow! (and holy brown rice too!) I am super happy to see you making these crazy awesome life decisions. I def owe you a phone call.
    I think you’re going to make a great coach someday soon:)

Leave a Reply

