Wait…Did I say I wanted to hit a 225# squat at the meet in August?

Heavy 2×3 Squats

Warmup

45 x 8 Feeling it out, trying to find a comfortable depth since Paulie mentioned last week that he was worried about it.
135 x 5
165 x 3
205 x 1

Work

225 x 2 (15# PR!) Failed the 3rd
(rest, sweet potatoes, candy, ammonia)
225 x 1 (I was so sure I had 3 going into this, but when it came time to prove it, I could only get 1…I kind of felt like I gave up on these… not sure why)

Thoughts

I am really happy to have set a 15# PR on my squats, and I’m thrilled to be able to say I can squat 2 plates officially… I’m also pretty bummed that I didn’t get all 3 reps on these. Both times, the first rep felt really easy, but I could feel myself getting scared of hitting full depth after that.

I wasn’t 100% confident going in, because I was worried that a 15# jump was too much for a set of 3, and I think that was part of the problem. Another part of me thinks that I was feeling overly accomplished for squatting 2 plates… thus not putting in the intensity needed to lift it 3 times. Overly proud of achieving 1 rep, and underly confident in achieving 3… makes for a weird mental dilemma under the barbell.

I’m planning to attempt 231.5# (105Kilos – so I can confidently hit it at the meet) for my heavy doubles next week. I know I have more than 225 for 2 in me. I just need to stick with it and summon my inner beast when it fucking sucks. I don’t feel like I did that today.

Power Cleans

After the squats, I didn’t have the energy to go above 30Kilos on these. Attempted a set of full cleans toward the end, which burned my quads like a mother.

I am fucking beat and hungry.

Food & Fuel

Pre-Lifting Meal

2 bratwursts
2 cups Kale
1/2 an onion
1 cup mashed sweet potatoes

While Lifting

1 scoop Xtend
5 sour patch watermelons (trying to get a sugar rush to help make the bar go up)
Ammonia on 2nd set (not really food, but whatever… )
1/2 cup mashed sweet potatoes

Post-Lifting Meal

2 scoops whey protein
1 scoop BCAAs & Creatine
5 sour patch watermelons
1/2 cup mashed sweet potatoes

(Did I mention I also eat pure sugar when I lift now? Oh yeah, well, that happened…)

3 thoughts on “Wait…Did I say I wanted to hit a 225# squat at the meet in August?

  1. Well done Lana! The squat definitely has a mental component to it more so than any other lift. 225×2 is AWESOME. A 15lb PR is no joke. BTW, did you mean 231.5 pounds above?

    Keep it going!

Leave a Reply

