Eating like a Mother Fuckin’ Powerlifter!

So, I’m starting a really exciting lifting cycle at the gym this week — over the next three weeks I’m going to start into new territory on all three of my major lifts and I can’t fucking wait! I’ve been looking forward getting to this point in my programming for the past six to eight weeks and I am absolutely NOT going to fuck it up by not eating and recovering properly. What does that mean? Well, that means getting my game face on and eating and sleeping like a god damned champion. Though out my life, I have enjoyed fucking around with my diet.. testing different things… seeing how different foods affect my body comp, mental clarity, and mood… but not for the next couple months! Now, it’s time to get serious about eating like a powerlifter — and I don’t mean scarfing down milkshakes and fast food!

So, what’s been on the menu lately? Well, to put it briefly as much protein, naturally grown carbs, and healthy fats as possible. Meat and potatoes.

Protein

Lately, I (a 155-160# female) have been making a concerted effort to eat at least 8oz of meat with every meal (other than breakfast, when I make sure I eat at least 4 eggs). Sometimes, this goes up to 16oz a meal (usually on deadlift or squat day).

Now, you might be thinking “Jesus Lana! An entire pound of meat for lunch!?” and what I’m saying to you is this, “YES! AN ENTIRE POUND OF MEAT AT LUNCH.” And now you’re probably thinking “Oh no, I can’t eat that much, I’ll get fat, plus it’s uncomfortable to eat that much food” to which I reply “What-the-fuck ever. Just do it anyway.”

You’re not going to get fat from eating meat if you’re lifting, you’re just going to get strong. However, you WILL get fat from eating sugar, so watch your ass as you dive into that chocolate cake and all those margaritas! I’ve been eating pounds of meat a day for many months now, and honestly, I’m only getting leaner. I gotta do what I gotta do to get strong, and at this point in my training, that means eating a pound of steak for lunch. So fuck it bitchez, let’s eat!

…and yes, it’s uncomfortable to eat a pound of steak sometimes. Or jesus, 3 or 4 cans of tuna! ugh.. your god damned right that’s uncomfortable! But, FUCK IT RIGHT?  A girls gotta do what a girls gotta do to grow a big ass and a nice set of quads 😉

Carbs

In addition to all the protein I’ve been eating, I have been making sure I am getting a sufficient ammount of carbs with every meal. My old CrossFit favorites ‘Broccoli and kale’ aren’t going to cut it if I want the energy to pick up 300#s on a regular basis. You judge your carb tolerance for yourself, but for me personally, I need some fucking potatoes with my meat otherwise I am really really sore after my lifts and I feel like a sad lazy sloth all week long. I’ve been getting around 30% of my calories from carbs lately, and it’s been working out pretty damn well.

Color

You didn’t realize that was a macronutrient did you? Well… it is now. Colorful food is the best. Look at what I had for lunch today (before going to the gym to squat). BRIGHT ORANGE sweet potatoes and BRIGHT PURPLE fucking cabbage soup. It was delicious and it delivered me more vitamins than your average daily multi-vitamin. Hell yes.

Fats

Fats make me happy. Being happy makes me a better lifter. I’m not kidding, there is some serious truth behind those words.

EAT UP!

Treats

Let’s face it, sometimes dessert needs to happen. Therefor I have been putting 2 scoops of protein powder in every dessert I make. Fruit smoothies are a big one. So are paleo protein muffins.

6 thoughts on “Eating like a Mother Fuckin’ Powerlifter!

Leave a Reply

