Pumpkin Walnut Protein Pancakes

While I used to be really against paleo pancakes, so much in fact that I coined the term “Paleo Pancake Syndrome” (which is turning really unhealthy foods into just as unhealthy paleo ‘alternatives’). I decided that I wanted some fucking pancakes today and I gave in and made some. BUT, I put a lot of effort into making sure that the macros were something I am proud to be consuming. With 12grams of protein in EACH pancake, you can’t really go wrong. Colorful starch, healthy fats from nuts and eggs, and TONS of protein. If you aren’t OK with whey protein powder… I’d suggest you don’t make these, because it is a major ingredient. Overall, these rocked and I will probably be making them again.

Also. These are perfect for fall! It felt absolutely wonderful to sit down to a big pile of these as a cool breeze blew through the changing leaves outside and into my open kitchen window.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup milk (sub coconut milk)
  • 2 tbsp melted butter (in the batter)
  • 3 scoops whey protein (I used double chocolate flavor, but use whatever makes you happy)
  • 1/2 cup ground almonds (1 handful of almonds in a coffee grinder will do the trick)
  • 2 tsp coconut flour
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Chopped Walnuts
  • Oil/Butter for the pan

Method

Mix all the ingredients except the chopped walnuts and the oil together in a large bowl until smooth. Heat a skillet to medium heat and add oil or butter to it. Once it’s hot go ahead and ladle the batter into the pan as you would normal pancakes. Sprinkle the chopped walnuts on top.  Then, you can pretty much cook these just like normal pancakes. Once they bubble up and look sturdy, go ahead and flip them. I found 2 minutes on the first side and 1 minute on the second to be about right.

Serve with butter and maple syrup if you’re feelin the sugar rush 🙂

This recipe makes twelve 4″ pancakes.
Each pancake = 135 Calories. 12g protein. 9g fat. 4g carbs.  (Yesssss!)

Note: Because these pancakes are gluten free they won’t stick together as well as normal pancakes (though, I think the whey protein helps these hold them together a bit better than some other paleo pancakes I’ve attempted). Because of this, I recommend making smaller pancakes than you might normally. I made mine 3-4 inches in diameter and they cooked/flipped very nicely. Had I gone for a 6″ pancake, I think it would have been a messy situation. 

Leave a Reply

