Spitzers in the LES & Volume Day in the gym!

Wooooo!!! So happy to make it to the gym today. I was worried I was going to have to miss this week all together between the new tattoo, getting sick, and going on vacation next week – but no! I am making it work! It’ll be a 4 day Texas week rather than 5, but I don’t think it will be a problem. Anyway, FOOD LOG, yeah, what did I eat today?? Hrmmmmmm…..

3/13/13

Breakfast:

  • 2 Jumbo Eggs in olive oil 
  • 1.5 slices of bacon

Lunch at Spitzer’s in the Lower East Side: 

I come here about once a week, or maybe once every two weeks for lunch with co-workers and while it is totally a splurge (because it is apparently not possible to spend under $20 on lunch), it is DELICIOUS and so fucking comfy! As a powerlifter, I could do with a bit more food on my plate, but… oh well. I could sit at the giant wooden tables and bullshit with my friends every day for the rest of my life, and die completely happy. This place is just nice, welcoming, and absolutely perfect after long client meetings. Anyway, lots of paleo friendly options on the menu. I am a big fan of the salmon, but I also LOVED the chicken, as well as the shrimp & avocado salad (though, that is tiny). Yum Yum YUMMM! Additionally, they have an amazing beer list, that I’ve never actually taken advantage of (because it’s co-workers lunch whenever I’m here… and because I rarely drink beer.) so I can’t really comment on that. But yeah… LOVE IT! 

  • 6oz Salmon Filet
  • Kale
  • Acorn Squash puree

Dinner #1 / Pre-lifting:

  • 1 bowl of leftover chicken, tomato & root veggie soup
Texas Method, Week 4 – Volume Day

Squat: 5×5 @ 190# Much easier than last week, even though I am getting over a cold. Whoop Whoop! I may have peed a little put on one of these. Fuck being a girl.

Press: 5×5 @ 60# Got sloppy at the end, but overall, not that heavy feeling.

Deadlift: 1×4 + 1  @245# I had to take a second and reset before #5 because it jsut wasn’t happening as a set of 5 today – I was not really in the mood to be deadlifting. Anyway, I’m not too worried about it, this is new territory for me on deadlift volume, so I am excited to be pulling this weight for more than 1 rep (especially after being sick the past 3 days).  I might take a week off from deadlifts, give myself some more recovery time, and hit 250#x5 like I fucking mean it next time!

Post-lifting: 

  • 2 scoops whey

Dinner #2 at the Diner:
Oh God, I love you diner, and I am going to write a worthy review for you one day!

  • 1 baked potato w/ a tsp of sour cream
  • large greek salad (Romain, tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, onions, feta, olive oil)
  • 8oz chicken, kabob style.
Leave a Reply

