Home Sweet Home

(My husband getting ready to totally destroy me at skiing)

Home from my AMAZING mini-vacation and I am feeling refreshed and rejuvenated and ready to kick some fuckin ass!

I ate like total trash for 5 straight days and it felt great (until it didn’t)…but mostly, aside from the “I’m not used to this belly ache” it felt great to let loose and not worry about anything.

Additionally, I WENT SKIING! I never did this before and I totally sucked ass, but it was extremely fun and a really eye opening experience. I became incredibly aware of just how strong I am, but how incredibly USELESS it is if I never do anything but fucking squat. There were so many little muscles awakened within my legs and back that just lay dormant every day. Until discovering lifting a few years ago, I spent my time as as a major nerd — I never did sports and completely lost touch with moving through space after I stopped taking dance classes and figure skating at the age of 12.

(If you’re gonna jump off some mountains, they might as well be some of the biggest ones in the US) 

With that said, I’ve decided to initiate a 12 month personal challenge! At least once a month for the next 12 months I will be using my body for at least one thing that is out of my normal routine and makes me a little uncomfortable – skiing, hiking, swimming, running, gymnastics, dance classes, whatever! I just want to move in new ways and put all this strength to good use! I have such an amazing body, full of muscles, and power and it’s totally lame that I never put it to use on anything but squats, bench-presses, and deadlifts. Anyway a 12 month challenge has been set: March – Skiing. We’ll see what April entails 🙂

3/21/13 – Food Log

Breakfast: 

  • 3 eggs scrambled
  • 1 cup coffee with cream (allowing coffee again, only before noon though)

Lunch:

  • 3 cups salad
  • 6oz chicken breast
  • 1tbsp vinaigrette
CrossFit WOD (for fun before returning to my Texas Method routine)

Bench:
3×5 @ 90#
2×3 @ 95# (then I shamefully failed my last rep….probably because I didn’t eat all friggin day)

WOD:
4:03

3 rounds: 155# DL x10, Ab-Mat Sit ups x15.
One day I will figure out how the hell to get my feet up to the bar. Perhaps it involves more kipping (or abs) than I have. Until then… sit ups.

Dinner: 

  • 1/2 a chicken, cooked with some butter
  • 1/2 cup sweet potatoes
  • 1 cup broccoli

Also, in lieu of my terrible diet I am initiating a stricter diet for the next 30 days. Dairy limited to cream and butter. Limited avocados & nuts. Limited sweet potatoes (only after lifting). Drinks are a once a week occurrence.  April 21st I will reassess the sitch.

Leave a Reply

