I’m losing 15 pounds. Seriously.

I have been meaning to finish cutting back down to the 148 weight class for the past few months, but I just keep procrastinating on these last 10-15 pounds. I successfully got down from 165# to 155# since Christmas, but then … Valentines day happened… and then my birthday happened… and honestly, I’ve just kinda stalled for the past month. Today I weighted 158#s and that’s the wrong direction. There’s really no more excuses on the calendar so it’s time to get my ass in gear.

130324ProgressPicsWaist – 33″ at belly button
Hips – 42″ at largest
Right Thigh – 26.5″ at largest

As I said last time I posted before pictures — “Every good fitness story starts with some embarrassing looking ‘Before’ pictures”. And here they are! I will say, however, I’m not really that embarrassed of these ones. I think I look pretty good for almost 160#s! Considering I weigh more than my September 2011 photos, and I look way more fit, I am pretty happy with it actually 🙂 Also I think my giant legs are kinda hot. That said, I’m excited to get back down to 145#

2 days ago I set myself up for a 30 day “strict paleo” challenge, but I’ve given it some thought and don’t think that’s the best way to do it….I always do these, I rarely hit my goals and then I give up after the challenge is over. Plus, just because I’m eating strict paleo doesn’t really mean my head is set on losing weight. Having been 90% paleo for the past 2 years, I am completely capable of BULKING while eating very strict paleo (how do you think i got up to 165#?). So “going strict” doesn’t really ensure I will lose weight. In lieu of this,  I am going to do something new, something I haven’t done in a long time — I am going to actually attempt to lose weight, actively, for HOWEVER MANY DAYS IT TAKES. I am just going to stick to what I know works until I weigh in at 145#s three times (that way it’s not some sort of weird dehydrated fluke). I’m going to stick with it and I’m not going to give up. No matter what!

I would like to get my weight stabilized under 145# within the next 12 weeks (a tad over 1 pound a week, sounds do-able). So…. where does that leave me? June 8th. That sounds great! HERE WE GO!

The plan:

Keep my carbs lower – I am going to do this even post-lifting. If I want to lose weight, I just need to cut the potatoes, plantains and sweet potatoes out of my life. This has been key for me in the past, and I assume it still is.  (also, I need to cut the damn tacos out of my life)

Keep my calories lower – I don’t have a specific daily number but I know what I usually eat (because I write it down every fucking day) and I am going to simply ‘eat a little bit less’. Nothing too complicated here — 2 eggs instead of 3. 6oz of chicken instead of 8. Skip the bacon. Etc.

  • Watch the avocados
  • Watch the heavy cream
  • Watch the nuts
  • Watch the booze LANA! This mean’s pretty fucking close to none.

Make sure I get enough protein – This is important, because I’m trying to lose fat not muscle. I am going to shoot for 120-140 grams of protein a day (more on lifting days) — That should pan out to around 2 large eggs at breakfast (15g), 6ox chicken at lunch (40g), 8 oz meat at dinner (60g), and 1 protein shake (50g).

No Mo Cheese – Cheese is my favorite slip up (other than whiskey), but I will cut that shit out until I get my weight where I want it.

Get to bed on time – I have been kinda shitty with getting 8 hours of sleep lately and I need to start being more careful about this. I am going to try to be in bed by 10pm on pre-lifting nights and 12pm on not lifting nights.

Drink more water – I used to be the queen of slurping down 130 oz of water every day, but lately I’ve been slacking big time. I think because I stopped carrying my Nalgene bottle around with me everywhere. I am going to start doing this again. Four 32oz bottles every day from here on out – Bring it!

Keep Lifting – I will keep doing my normal 3 days of Texas Method a week, for as long as that keeps working. I understand it will get harder if I am not eating as much. If it slows dramatically, I will reassess (though this probably just means switching to threes instead of fives… or perhaps something with more hypertrophy just for shits and giggles)

Incorporate some conditioning – likely this will be in the form of one or two CrossFit WODs a week. Likely I will do this directly after my Volume and Intensity lifting sessions (though, perhaps the next day, or the evening after). I’m not sure how this will work but we’ll see how it goes. I will probably have to play around with how I fit this into my week as I’m really not sure yet.

Document – I’m going to take my weight every morning and post a picture of the bar graph every Sunday. I’m also going to post progress photos and measurements every two weeks (on Sundays). I will update this post tomorrow with starting photos and measurements.

Anyway I am super psyched! OPERATION HIGHER WILKS SCORE (and summa-time abz) IS A GO!

One thought on “I’m losing 15 pounds. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

