Yoga for Powerlifting

More yoga today. Again, it was a really really nice way to spend my lunch break and it felt wonderful to get my busted back moving and stretching again. Today’s session was slower and calmer than yesterday’s Vinyasa class and was more focused on alignment, elongating your spine, and opening your chest forward. I was very happy with it and I really liked the instructor. We talked about some super weird yogi shit during the class, like “circles” in your head and chest. I didn’t understand it, and I’m pretty sure it’s not a real thing, but focusing on it while I practiced was helpful in keeping my neck and spine aligned and I think that’s the goal overall. I think this type of class will suit me well once I start lifting again — not too intense and very alignment and mobility focused.  I felt a lot more flexible today than yesterday and really can’t wait to see how this translates into lifting mobility.

And as a general note: I am stupidly sore from the past two days. Especially in my abs. Which is great 🙂

4/9/13 – Food Log

Morning Weight: 151.4#
Sleep: 9 hours

Breakfast:

  • 2 eggs scrambled with onions, cilantro, and tomatoes
  • 2 slices bacon
  • large iced coffee with cream
  • 32 oz water
  • Another 32 oz of water at yoga

Lunch: 

  • Salad
    • romain
    • green olives
    • tomatoes
    • roasted red peppers
    • carrots
    • purple cabbage
    • chicken
    • about 1 tbsp ranch dressing
  • 32 oz water
  • 12 oz green tea

Dinner:

  • 3 sweet italian sausages (8oz)
  • 1 cup home made slaw
    • purple cabbage
    • carrots
    • onions
    • cilantro
    • parsley
    • lemon
    • peach vinegar
    • mayo
  • 1-2 oz scotch (it was so nice outside on my deck, this amazing summer weather was calling me to have a drink after work)
  • 32 oz water
Leave a Reply

