Homemade Chicken Stock

My husband got this chicken stock recipe from his friend a few months ago and has been making it whenever s we roast a chicken lately. It is really really awesome — makes the best soups and stews ever… and is honestly, pretty damn good alone. Why would I just drink broth? Well it’s good for fueling up on  minerals and electrolytes that your body often doesn’t hold onto when you eat a lower carb diet (aka paleo).  So yeah, drink up! Enjoy all the healthy savory goodness that usually goes to waste with the bones.

Ingredients:

  • 1 fully picked chicken carcass 
  • 1 large onion, quartered
  • 2 large carrots cut into big chunks
  • 3 stalks of celery, chunked
  • handful of thyme
  • handful of rosemary
  • bay leaf
  • Enough water to cover everything in a large pot (I used about 12 cups)

Method:

Preheat oven to 185 degrees. Chop your veggies and pick the meat off your chicken (I like to save it for chicken salad). Put everything in a large pot and cover with water. Throw the pot in the oven and forget about it for 8-10 hours (I usually do this overnight). Once it’s done, let it cool a bit and strain out the bones/veggie scraps. Save the broth in the fridge or the freezer for future recipes.

4/11/13 – Food Log & Training Notes

Morning Weight: 151.8# (My weight has been stuck at 151.something for the past 5-6 days.. totally ready to see if go down a bit. Honestly, I’m still excited to be below 155 so I’m not really complaining, but it would be great if I saw 150 on the scale before my period comes back… That would make me happy)
Sleep: 9 hours

Breakfast: 

  • 1 egg
  • 2 breakfast sausages
  • Small cup of cold brew with cream
  • 32 oz water

Yoga:

Lots of awesome hamstring and shoulder stretches. Flexibility has improved DRAMATICALLY over the past 3 sessions. I can now stand on my hands with my knees straight! SHIT’S -CRAY!

Triangle Posing – All day erry-day

Lunch: 

  • Salad
    • Romain
    • Tomatoes
    • roasted red peppers
    • green olives
    • 1/4 an avocado
    • 1 egg
    • 4oz grilled chicken
  • 32 oz water
  • Decaf coffee with cream

Dinner – made for me by Jeffrey, my love ❤ :

  • 1/2 a chicken breast, 1 leg & 1 thigh.
  • 1/2# brussel sprouts with olive oil, garlic, lemon, balsamic
  • 32 oz water
  • Another 32 oz water
2 thoughts on “Homemade Chicken Stock

  1. No I haven’t but sounds good — My tiny Brooklyn apartment doesn’t allow for extra kitchen accessories haha. I just do everything in my cast iron.

Leave a Reply

