Upping my Carbs

I read an article from Stumptuous yesterday morning and I felt like she was talking to me, personally. It was as if she had been spying through my windows and studying my every thought, mood and action. Or who knows? Maybe she was just reading my blog ūüėČ (or maybe this is just a real thing and the woman know’s what she’s talking about)

Now, I will say, I am happily medicated for ADD & anxiety/depression and am very in touch with my mental state. I am always aware of what’s going on in my mind and when I am not myself. I noticed lately (over the past 3 weeks or so – ironically, about the same amount of time that I cut my carbs to about none)… my head hadn’t been feeling right. All the signs of stress and anxiety were coming back into my life; I’ve been a feeling like a giant bitch, generally glum and disenchanted feeling, biting my nails again, not sleeping well. Then, once I do fall asleep, I’ve been having nightly¬†panicky¬†wake ups (this is something that happens to me when I can’t sleep and my brain is spinning… I literally just act CRAZY in my sleep); Then, extra hard to actually get out of bed. My joints are aching;¬† I’m getting RETARDEDLY SORE from lifting…. You get the idea. All the usual stressed out anxiety type bullshit. ¬†In light of all this, I was telling me husband that perhaps I should go to the doctor to get my dosages checked out. I decided to hold off, thinking perhaps changes at my job were just stressing me out.

Anyway… then I read this article,¬†and found myself thinking “Perhaps Ms. Stumptuous is onto something.”

This “super strict paleo” shit doesn’t really seem to be working for me right now so I’ve decided to switch things up and see how I feel.¬†Sure, two years ago this worked great and when something works so beautifully it’s hard to move past it. But if we really compare my current diet to what I was starting with — Philly Cheese-steaks, Chinese food, pastries, home made mac and cheese, and gallons of home brewed beer a week — I have really cleaned up my life and perhaps it’s time to to consider the next steps. I’m literally a fucking competitive powerlifter now and perhaps I should start eating like it. I need to be growing muscles and everything I have read for the past year says I need some carbs for that shit. The truth is,¬†my body has been telling me to stop eating strict low-carb paleo — I am sore, I’m injured, my weight loss and my lifting have plateaued. It sucks. I’ve known this for a while, but haven’t wanted to confess to it because I run a fucking paleo blog. But really I am supposed to be focusing this blog on something close to paleo that works for lifters… not weight loss paleo (as I have been the past few months).

Switching Up My Macros – I’ve decided I’m going to give it a shot. I’m going to up my carbs a bit (a little bit at a time so I don’t blow up like a balloon) until my macro’s are around 40% Carbs, 30%, 20% Fat (goodbye pounds of bacon, I will always love you…). ¬†Then, once I get a feel for everything (because I am still dedicated to getting down to 145#’s) I am going to take my weight loss old school — tracking my calories! My current weight loss strategy was¬†definitely¬†working but I feel it was at the detriment of my mood, mental health, job satisfaction, muscle mass, and general health.

Welcoming Back Some Old Friends¬†– Fruits. Potatoes. Sweet Potatoes. Root Veggies. Dairy. Protein powder. Very Occasionally… white rice (since it doesn’t make me sick like gluten, but it is a¬†readily¬†available¬†carb at all the lunch places near my job). All in all nothing to overtly un-paleo and nothing I would consider un-healthy… just carby food that grows out of the ground or comes from animals.

Anyway…

Also, from here on out you can assume I drank 32 oz of water with every meal. I am a pro and no longer feel the urge to log that shit.

5/1/13 – Day 1 Carb’d Up

Breakfast:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 portobella mushroom
  • basil
  • cheddar cheese
  • Coffee with cream

Lunch: 

  • Salad
    • 4 cups¬†romaine
    • 2x ham
    • 1 egg
    • 1/2 an avocado
    • tomatoes
    • pecans
    • olive oil
    • salt
  • 1 Cup Strawberries/Blueberries/Grapes

Dinner – takeout from the office:

  • 2 pieces Saba sashimi
  • Tri-Colored Tuna Roll – Tuna, avocado, seaweed, white rice.
4 thoughts on “Upping my Carbs

  1. Oh my GOD, that’s all me!! “Giant bitch, generally glum, acting crazy in my sleep, complete and total exhaustion in the AM where my body feels like it weighs 400 pounds, achy joints, flaring up Achilles tendonitis. What the WHAT? I did not put any of this up to carbs except the bitch part.

    I’ve been waking up in the middle of the night doing strange shit, having fully alien conversations with my sleeping husband. That’s from carbs??

    Just this morning I could have cried, I got 10 hours of deep sleep last night….and woke up this morning feeling like my body was SO heavy and exhausted. So carbs then??

    Bring on the parsnips, apples, carrots, squash, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, white potatoes (because they are not the devil as far as I’m concerned). *she says’s as she eats her second apple today because it’s grocery night and that’s the best she could do for extra carbs today*

    • I’m no nutritionist, but this was my experience. The sleep walking and crazy lady drama is much less prevalent when I am fully loaded with food and carbs. I don’t know if it’s definitely carbs or calories, but I take very special care to make sure I’m getting a healthy dose of both every day.

      • I’m normally very self-aware and perceptive. I notice EVERY little change or tweak or adjustment very quickly. Just never put it together that it could be a particularly brutal Low Carb Flu…and one that is fully unnecessary.

        Maybe because I am so driven to shed these 15 g’damn pounds and I want them gone right effing now…..

Leave a Reply

