“Damn, that’s a strong girl” – random dude at the gym

Today I woke up and I was feeling fucking GREAT! Like, really ready to go kick some ass at the gym. With that in mind, I decided to do some heavy singles on my bench and deadlift before getting to my programmed routine. What I  have been enjoying most about the Cube method is the emphasis on making is work for you personally. The author, Brandon Lilly (who, I have a total fucking powerlifter crush on) strongly advocates listening to your body as you work through the cycles. Some days, if I am feeling like shit, I scale back my volume to avoid getting retardedly sore the following day. Some days, like today, I am feeling awesome, so I decided to do a little extra heavy work before getting to my routine . Very happy with the decision today. I am feeling really confident in the fact that my busted ass back is getting better!

…but seriously… how could a gal not have a crush on this man? 300+ pounds of bald headed, big bearded, tattooed up, total fucking babe meat (yes, I can objectify men on my feminist blog. Fuck you. My blog. My rules.) I think he may just remind me of my husband a little 😉 

5/11/13

Breakfast/Pre-Lifting: 

  • Protein Pancakes
    • 1 scoop whey
    • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
    • 2 eggs
    • 1 tbsp almond flour
    • 1 tbsp butter
    • spices
  • 1 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 cup coffee
  • c4
Heavy Singles for fun

This wasn’t a test day by any means, just a day to push myself a little further than I have since I tore a disc in my back in March. I am really happy to have hit some numbers very close to my current PRs and to not feel any pain while doing so! When I officially test in 8 weeks or so, I think I will be able to set some new PRs! I need to find a meet… I am feeling the urge to compete really badly.

Bench worked up to singles at 85#, 95#, 100# All of these were extremely easy. My current bench PR is 105 and I am really confident I could have hit that, or more, today. I made a vow that I wasn’t going to miss any lifts though so I didn’t push it any higher. I will say though, 100# felt lighter than it ever has and I weight 10 pounds less now than I did when I’ve hit this in the past. I am pretty sure all the weird accessory work I have been doing is pushing my bench in the right direction. Since it is my weakest lift, I am really happy about that. I would LOVE to see some real progress on the bench.

Deadlift worked up to singles at 225# (stupid easy), 250# (also very easy), and 275# (slower, but still nothing unmanageable) . My current deadlift PR is 292# and it was sloooooowwwwwww and loud. I have only pulled 275 maybe 3 times ever and it is a weight that I have failed at in the past many many times. I am really happy to have done it today, with no problem whatsoever. 

CUBE Method – Explosive Deadlift Day

Speed deadlifts from the floor – 8×3@160# The weight was cake but getting some explosive speed from the ground required a lot of focus. Very fun though!

Snatch Grip Deadlifts from 4″ Blocks – 3×12@135# fuck me… I was completely fucking sweaty and exhausted after this shit! I think these will really help my upper back. I loved how tight everything felt.

Barbell Shrugs – 3×12@95# ugh… shrugs. Baby traps can’t …

Lat Pulldowns – 3×12@75# these are getting easy, I think I will go up in weight next time.

I was supposed to do highbar squats in there too but a group of bodybuilders were using the cage for thousands of sets of RDLs with all the fucking 10# weights on each side, so I couldn’t.  Anyway… I was exhausted so I came home to eat.

Lunch/Post-Lifting: 

  • 2 scoops whey
  • 1 pear
  • 2 cups basmati rice w/ cilantro & a little butter

Snack:

  • 2 cups cottage cheese
  • 1 apple

Dinner:

  • 1/2 cup roasted broccoli 
  • 1/2 cup roasted brussel sprouts
  • 1/2 cup roasted cauliflower
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Dessert:

  • 1 cup 2%  greek yogurt
  • stevia
  • 1/4 cup frozen raspberries

2234 Calories
73.1g of Fat (30%)
206.4g of Protein (40%)
190.6g of Carbs (30%)

Pretty awesome day of training and eating!

7 thoughts on ““Damn, that’s a strong girl” – random dude at the gym

Leave a Reply

