Going Sober

Today I stumbled onto the /r/stopdrinking subreddit and after a couple hours of lurking around like a creeper, I decided that I’m going to take a plunge and stop drinking. I don’t want to go into my entire personal/family history with alcoholism but I am very likely an alcoholic. Those who know me closely have almost definitely been a part of an event that is leading up to this decision. While I love to laugh and joke about my drinking habits on this blog, I know it’s actually a problem for me, and one I need to tackle before it tackles me. Today I’m going to begin the process of becoming a sober person. Today was my first day officially sober 🙂

Powerlifting has definitely helped me make this decision as it is one of my main motivators in life and I know my lifts will be benefited by my going sober. I look forward to seeing that happen in addition to many other benefits. I will probably talk about this decision from time to time on this blog, so get ready for the emo-bullshit. Anyway, hopefully this won’t be too terribly difficult. I appreciate any support/advice/feedback you’ve got. Thanks.

(Jeff’s home made bread bowls. YUM!)

Breakfast:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4# bacon
  • coffee w/ cream

Lunch: 

  • 1 cup cottage cheese (this hardly counts as a powerlifters lunch… but it is what it is)

Dinner: 

  • Home made clam chowder
  • Home made bread bowls OH MY GOD! 

Later:

  • 2 scoops whey
2 thoughts on “Going Sober

  1. Oh no – don’t read my post then – it may trigger you.

    All the best with battling this. I’ve friends who have managed it – it’s an uphill battle, and every day is a challenge at times but you CAN do it!

    • Haha I’m not bad of an alcoholic at this point so I don’t think a post would trigger me 😉 My life is really good and under control, I just think it would be better if I didn’t have the ‘once every six month fuck up’ because I drank too much. This is more of a proactive decision rather than a reactive one.

      Thanks for the support I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

