American Vegetable Fried Rice

Since I stopped “dieting” and started trying to eat more of what my body is asking for, I have been eating a lot of rice (as you may have noticed). It’s super simple and doesn’t have much going on with it but it tastes awesome and it seems to make my deadlifts come up faster 😉 Overall I’ve really been enjoying having added it back into my diet, so for the first time ever on this blog, I’m posting a rice recipe!

I’m calling this ‘American Vegetable Fried Rice’ because it’s not fucking Asian and that’s what everyone assumes when I say fried rice. It has celery, carrots, garlic and onions, so it tastes almost cajun in a way (close to the Holy Trinity of cajun food — celery, onions, and peppers). This dish is hearty savory and full of veggies! I was really really happy with the way this turned out and I’m super excited for someone else to try it!

Recipe makes about 4 cups of food – 50% rice, 50% veggies.

Ingredients: 

  •  2 cups cooked white rice
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, pressed
  • 1 large carrot, sliced thin
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 egg

Method: 

In a large skillet heat the oil and brown the garlic. Add the rest of the veggies and saute until the onions have browned and the carrots are softened. Add the (pre-cooked) rice and sauté for another 5-10 minutes. Whisk the egg in a bowl and dump it in. Stir it in as the egg cooks. At the end, throw in a little butter if you want and serve hot.

I had this with a steak and a salad on my deck and I wanted to die of happiness 🙂 SOOOO GOOD!

5/21/13 – Food/Lifting Log

If you haven’t noticed from my log, my lifting days are my highest in calories and carbs. As I said, I’m doing what my body tells me and it is very fucking clear about that shit! EAT LANA EAT!!!! Then, on non-lifting days… not so much.  So far I have maintained my weight at 155# and have been feeling very strong and lean. Really happy to be experimenting with my foods and for it to be going well. Most meals have been very clean (and honestly aside from the rice and dairy not too far from paleo), but I’m allowing the occasional treat because I hate feeling like a robot and that’s what I was feeling like when I was “dieting”.

Breakfast/Pre-Lifting:

  • 3 corn tortillas
  • 3 eggs
  • cilantro & hot sauce
  • C4
CUBE Method: Cycle 2: Heavy Bench

Bench: 3×2 @ 90# Easy peasy!
Bench More: 2×15 @ 75#
Overhead Press: 3×10 @ 45#
Dumbbell Curls (near the squat rack, but not in it): 3×15 @ 15# each
Lat Pulldowns: 3×12 @ 90# These were hard today, I think because I did them on Saturday.
Weighted Decline Bench Sit Ups: 3×15 @ 15# Going up in weight!! These are getting better every week. I think it’s really helping my lifts too.
Back Extensions: 3×15

Post-Lifting: 

  • Sauna Protein
  • 1 greek yogurt with cherry snack pack thing
  • 1 yerba matte

Lunch (OMG SO FUCKING HUNGRY FROM LIFTING!!):

  • Holy mother of god delicious chicken burrito bowl from a lunch truck. 
    • 2x chicken
    • mad dirty rice
    • mad black beans
    • 1 tbsp guacamole
    • hot sauce

Snack:

  • a tiny mango sorbe (100 calories on the label) 

Dinner on my deck with my amazing husband: 

  • 1 cup of the above rice concoction
  • 6oz grass fed organic steak
  • 2 cups salad greens w/ oil and vinegar

3 days no booze! Still been easy, but I haven’t tried to be social at all yet… that’s usually when it sucks but I know I will be fine.

6 thoughts on “American Vegetable Fried Rice

    • Sauna protein… ahhhh, how I love thee. My lifting partner and I treat it like we’re sitting at a bar bullshitting. Except really we’re sitting in a 150 degree wooden box drinking protein powder gossiping about the old men on the lat machine.

      (Seriously though, it’s just time management…. getting my post-lifting protein and wanting to sit in the sauna and relax immediately after I lift. It’s a little gross but not too bad)

  1. That looks sooo nice 🙂 I’m currently avoiding white rice (boo hoo!) but adore it, and will file the recipe away for a rainy day. Yummmm…

    I’m doing the same, and listening to my body about what it needs. Today I had steak and broccoli for lunch. I mean, WTF!!! This goes against everything I was taught about Being A Girl and Thou Must Diet and all that other stuff. But hey, it’s working, I’m getting stronger, and feeling soo much better.

    Amazing what happens when you give your body what it needs, huh? 😉

  2. Celery? Celery is evil. I might have to unfollow you….

    It sounds as if you are practising intuitive eating (OF COURSE there is a name for it!!) Fit, Feminist and over fifty have a blog post about it here http://fitisafeministissue.wordpress.com/2013/02/12/intuitive-eating-what-it-is-and-why-i-love-it/
    I hope it works for you. It’s a place I would like to get to eventually but I have to work out some issues first!

    Dinner on the deck looks lovely, am jealous your weather is nice enough 🙂

    • Hmmmmm ‘Intuitive Eating’ you say? Some part of me wants to get real nerdy and research the fuck out of how to do it perfectly, but that’s the part of me I am trying to stop haha. Thanks for the link though, I just followed that blog.

      It took me 2 years of paleo and weightlifting experiments to figure out what did and did not work for me. I feel at this point I have a very good understanding of what foods agree with me and what ones just kinda suck in my belly and on the platform. I don’t think a couple years ago I would have been able to be so responsible with my choices and so in tune with my body.

Leave a Reply

