A little less take-out would be good

I’m still working on getting my diet back in line and it’s going OK (not amazing, but generally in the right direction)… I didn’t have as much take-out this past week as I did the week before, and I’m making it a goal to not do it at all this upcoming week (other thank lunch, when I am happy with my salad or sushi from the grocery store near my job). For whatever reason, I keep feeling the urge to go back to paleo but I’m just not interested in putting a strict title to my diet, so I’m holding myself back. I think really, I just want to cook more and not ingest so much junky take-out food. Which I am totally capable of, I just need to work at it.  

To my surprise  the past month of “not- dieting” hasn’t been too bad really — I have managed to maintain my weight and am feeling strong. I was feeling a little groggy and achy but I think that was because I started eating too much junk in there somewhere. Anyway, I want to keep working on finding a sweet spot that allows me to progress with my lifts, and not feel like a fatty fat fatso.

Friday – May 31 2013

Breakfast:

  • 1 cup hominy
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 2 eggs
  • coffee with cream

Lunch while rushing to a meeting: 

  • 1 protein shake from a can! (Gross in concept but not that bad really)
  • 1 california roll

Snacks at the meeting (clients are in town so there is tons of food everywhere):

I skipped the chocolate brownies and candy 😉  I also skipped beer with my boss and opted for seltzer when we got bored of waiting for the meeting to start so we went to the bar. Who knew the biggest challenge with not drinking would be because of work functions!

  • Small salad with basil dressing
  • handfull of cherries
  • 4 strawberries
  • coffee w/ cream
  • dried apricots and bananas

Dinner before getting my tattoo finished: 

  • Volcano Roll & Sashimi (good god I love sushi so much)

Later… sore and achy from tattoo work:

  • about 1/2 cup of leftover chicken tikka masala
Saturday June 1, 2013

Breakfast/Pre-“lifting”: 

  • 2 slices of Jeff’s AMAZING home made sour dough bread
  • 2 eggs
  • cheddar cheese
  • butter
  • coffee w/ cream
Fucking Around at CrossFit

I couldn’t really lift because my back was sore from the tattoo but I did some conditioning just to keep myself moving around and feeling productive. This was fun. I also did some box jumps and pull ups just for fun.

5 Rounds:

    • 3 powercleans @ 35Kilos
    • 15 KB Swings @ 24Kilos

Lunch/Post-“lifting”:

  • Steak Salad 
    • 6oz steak
    • romaine
    • cabbage
    • corn
    • avocado
    • a couple tortilla slices
    • buttermilk dressing

Dinner:

  • 8oz grass fed organic beef meatballs
  • 1/4 cup marinara sauce
  • 1 cup caprice Salad (tomatoes, basil, mozzarella, olive oil)
  • 1/2 of a roasted zucchini
Leave a Reply

