Drop it like a squat

Today was a fun day lifting. Squats squats and more squats 🙂 My fave!! I had a good time and am excited to be on my last CUBE cycle. I feel like I have really figured out the explosive squat day — I was literally getting air on my sets! Fun! My joints have been super achy all day though (before and after lifting)… possibly rain related?? Who knows.

~Rain rain go away, come again another day~

P.S. taking today off from weighing and measuring food — just normal logging. I went out to dinner with friends and decided to just be a normal human being tonight. It was nice! Back on the weirdo wagon tomorrow.

Breakfast/Pre-Lifting:

Plantain Protein Pancakes – by far, the most successful protein pancakes to date! 

  • 1 large plantain
  • 1 egg
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 scoop whey
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 25 grams butter (for the pan)
CUBE Method, Cycle 2, Week 1, Explosive Squat Day

Squats: 5×2 @ 165# Super fast and fun! I loved these today 🙂
Pause Squats: 3×1 @ 185# ooof, heavy! This was a better weight from what I did last week. Much more appropriate.
Highbar Squats: 5×5 @ 155# Bleh…. achy knees and hips were getting annoying at this point.
RDLs: 3×8 @ 185# These felt fine, but my lower back is slightly sore now (15 hours later) Perhaps I lost my back on one…
Weighted Decline Bench Sit Ups: 3×15 @ 40# Almost ready to start doing these with a barbell! Kidding, that would be totally insane 😉

Post-Lifting:

  • Sauna Protein — 2 scoops whey
  • 3 egg omelet
  • 1 oz ham
  • onions
  • peppers
  • 1 banana

Lunch:

  • Assorted Sushi rolls
    • 4 pieces California roll
    • 2 small salmon roll pieces
    • 2 small tuna roll pieces
    • 3 pieces salmon/avocado roll
  • 2 cups cubed watermelon

Dinner:

  • 6 oysters w/ horseradish
  • 1 piece cornbread
  • 1 bowl jambalaya

Dessert:

  •  2 bowls of icecream – this was a social alternative to drinking beer with friends. Not the healthiest thing ever… but you choose your battles. And today I chose to give into one urge to help subside another. It worked.  
5 thoughts on “Drop it like a squat

  1. You said its your last Cube cycle… what are you planning on doing next?

    And I really need to try those plantain pancakes! Is that recipe for 1?

    • This is my last 3 week cycle of the 9 week “Cube”. So once this cycle is over I will test and see how I feel. I have really liked this program so much since it’s been super fun, I’m feeling strong, and I’m starting to grow visible muscles! (which, up until now… hasn’t been a thing. And I’m excited about it). If I do decide to switch to something else though, I might join my lifting parter on “Lift, Run, Bang” as she is having a lot of fun and success with that. Or, I might go back to the Texas Method routine I never finished because of my back injury. Mostly, I’m excited to be on the last cycle because I want to test, not because I have something better coming up.

      As for the recipe… I ate the whole batch but it could have easily fed two. The batter fluffs up a lot in the blender. These were pretty good, but I still haven’t mastered getting them to not stick to my caste iron pans…. grrrrrrr!

      • yay visible muscle! I always get so excited test too, it is tempting to do it more often than I should. A few of my gym friends are doing the Cube now too, they seem to really like it

Leave a Reply

