Self Assessment and Listening To Your Gut

Today was a rest day and I’m doing just that… sitting around on the internet, reading bullshit about lifting (my favorite pastime, and really, my only hobby). Perhaps once I feel I’ve gotten my fill I’ll spend some time stretching, mobilizing, and foam rolling, I have been feeling very stiff the past couple days and that sounds nice.

Due to reading this article, I decided that I’m going to start video taping my lifting sessions. Since I don’t have a coach anymore it might be a good idea to start finding more ways than just logging my lifting to track my progress (or alternatively, my lack-there-of… kidding). Plus, I’ll undoubtedly get more creepy internet stalkers if I post videos of myself squatting… kidding… but seriously… Anyway, I got this fancy new phone a few weeks ago, so maybe that will be a fun thing to do -OR- maybe it will just be the most annoying thing ever and I’ll stop doing it after a week. We’ll see!

Also, in other “I have no life outside of going to work and reading about lifting” news, I really enjoyed watching this video of Brandon Lilly (CUBE) and Paul Carter (Lift Run Bang) discussing programming and the importance of switching things up, following your gut, and finding what works for you at that time in your lifting career.

Since I’ve been off on my own, I’ve been following the Cube Method pretty strictly for my big lifts and more loosely with my accessory lifts. I feel like I’ve learned a lot in the process because I am actually listening to my body and seeing how I respond to different things. Sure, it sucks when I push too hard and then have to take a couple days off (or suck ass if I don’t), but it’s been great to learn this stuff and be able to blame nothing other than my own bad decision making. I feel there is this whole world of knowledge that I wasn’t able to dig into when I was working with my coach before because I wasn’t allowed to experiment. I thought the video was good and it’s nice to hear that some of the top guys had to go through similar shit — taking time away from following the rules, to listen to their gut. I’m sure one day I will go back to letting someone tell me what to do, but for right now, I feel like I’m learning a lot and I’m happy to be on my own going through this awkward period of powerlifting self-discovery 🙂

Food Log:

Enormous Breakfast with my Husband:

  • Egg Tacos
    • 2 eggs
    • 1 egg white
    • 2 corn tortillas
    • 1 tsp olive oil
    • tomatoes
    • cilantro
    • hot sauce
    • 1/4 of an avocado
    • 1 tbsp sour cream
  • 2 slices of bacon
  • black coffee

Lunch:

  • Big Salad
    • 4 cups romain
    • 6oz chopped turkey
    • mandarin oranges
    • black olives
    • cucumbers
    • carrots
    • tomatoes
  • 2 cups chopped watermelon
  • espresso

Dinner:

This was really good and the macros were also damn fine. I might make it more often! (might skip the butter next time… but then again… maybe not)

  • Curried Rice & Tuna
    • 200g rice
    • 1 can solid white albacore tuna
    • 2 cups roasted veggies, broccoli & brussel sprouts
    • 1 tbsp grass fed butter
    • 1 tsp olive oil
    • 1/2 an onion
    • 2 cloves garlic
    • turmeric
    • curry
    • salt & pepper

Dessert:

  • 2 scoops whey
  • 1/2 cup ice cream

Approx Calories: 1950 40%F, 30%P, 30%C

2 thoughts on “Self Assessment and Listening To Your Gut

Leave a Reply

