30 days sober, Wedding anniversary presents, and Bench Presses

My amazing amazing husband gave me my 5 year wedding anniversary present a couple days early today 🙂 I was supprised because I really wasn’t expecting anything (we’re not really big on gifts usually) But he did well this year — went and got my great grandmothers antique ring fixed for me and then bought me a really pretty necklace to match 🙂 I am in love with both of them… almost as much as I am with him. Seriously though – 5 years married!!!! I must be getting old 😉 

In other news, today marks 30 days sober and I am very very proud of myself! I would be lying if I said it as “easy” but it definitely hasn’t been as hard as I expected. I think making an official commitment really helped. The most challenging situations have actually come from my job, but I pushed past and am feeling good about myself. Really excited to continue with my new life and to not be a slave to the sauce. Plus, I think I am leaning out a little from not drinking… which is a nice bonus!

Breakfast/Pre-Lifting:

Green Smoothie

  • 2 cups raw kale
  • 1 banana
  • 1 peach
  • 2 strawberries
  • 2 scoops whey
  • 2 cups water
CUBE Method, Cycle 3, Week 2, Day 1. Bench – Reps

Bench: 2×1 @ 85# Cakeeee… I feel like I need to up my numbers on bench. Everything has been so easy as far as work sets go. Though, we’ll see… Everything is feeling good, so if I make any progress when I test I’m not gonna fuck around with the program.

Dumbbell Incline Bench: 2×20 @ 25# I finished these completely today! That’s progress baby!

Close Grip Bench: 3×12 @ 60# This was super easy. I will do 65# next time. I upped this from 55 last cycle and it still felt light. Anyway, I think this is also progress for high rep close grip.

Overhead Press: 3×5 @ 55# These sucked… I wanted to do sets of 8 but couldn’t make that many. I haven’t been using my belt for this and I think it makes it much harder. I’m not going to criticize too much since my overhead press has moved more on this program than it had in 9 months prior. So… not bad. Maybe there is something to doing your overhead press while you’re completely exhausted, without a belt.

Trap Band Pulls: 3×15 @ Red Band. 1 set high, one set medium, one set low.

Negative Chin Ups/Pull Ups: 10seconds down x 5, each grip — Added these into my programming because I have decided that if I can’t do a fucking chin-up I have no business being a competitive strength athlete or even attempting to deadlift 300#. Not being able to do a chinup is fucking PATHETIC and it needs to stop.

Weighted Decline Bench Sit Ups: 3×10 @ 45# Daaaayyyyymmmnnnn. These were hard today. Going to hold the progression for a couple sessions I think. Also, perhaps start working on holding the weight out closer to my head. Usually I do them at “boob level”

Excellent, excellent, excellent day in the gym. Super fun!

Post-Lifting:

  • Sauna Protein – 2 scoops whey
  • Banana
  • coffee w/ cream

Lunch:

  • 100g rice
  • 200g chicken with spices
  • 50g black beans
  • 50g corn/tomato salsa

Dinner: 

  • Sushi mania with my husband 🙂 See image. 

Another very successful day of healthy eating. I’m gettin good!

Gleðilegt afmæli Jeff! 
Happy Anniversary Jeff!

2 thoughts on “30 days sober, Wedding anniversary presents, and Bench Presses

Leave a Reply

