Pico De Gallo Recipe

I usually make this pico de gallo every few days, store in the fridge and add to EVERYTHING I eat. Egg tacos, chicken, beef, fish, rice, quinoa, salads seriously… EVERYTHING. I love it and it’s a major staple in my house. Now that I’m watching calories, I love it even more because it’s a giant flavor boost to simple dishes, is low in calories and high in vitamins. Lots of bang for your buck! Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 2 medium sized tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 of a medium onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp diced red bell peppers
  • 1 tbsp diced green bell peppers
  • 1 tbsp diced garlic
  • 2 tbsp chopped green onions
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • squish of lime

Method
Chop it up & Mix it up man! Easy as pie.

Week 1 Day 1 – 10 week cut

Training Log

Running – 1 mile:
Today is Day 1 of my fat cut. I’m excited! So excited in fact that I went out on a run this morning with my dog… Just for fun! WOAH! (if you don’t know, I typically loath running and will find any excuse NOT to do it… so this kinda a big deal). I tracked the run when I got back and it was exactly 1 mile – which is kinda exciting. I might do this run as a regular thing and see how I can progress on it over the next 10 weeks.

1 mile run review: Not that hard. Didn’t take that long. Dog loved it. Will run again 😉

Then…
3/4 mile Ruck – 6 bricks in my backpack. Harder than expected! Gonna be a little sore in the traps from this I think. Might need to get a better backpack so I can support the weight on my hips rather than my back.

Food Log 7/21/13

Total Calories – 1700 calories
Total Protein – 190g

Gold Star

Breakfast: 
2 egg tacos – 375 Calories

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 corn tortillas
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp pico de gallo (see recipe above)

Turns out the corn tortillas I bought at the grocery store have 50 more calories per serving than the ones I usually get. So, this was a little higher in calories than expected. I made it up in my other meals.

Snack: 
1 apricot – 25 calories

Lunch:

Screen Shot 2013-07-21 at 1.27.43 PM Chicken, Quinoa Salad & Cottage Cheese – 500 calories

  • 150g chicken breast (boiled in adobo spices)
  • 150g quinoa salad
    • 100g cooked quinoa
    • 25g chick peas
    • 25g veggies – cucumbers, bell peppers, tomatoes
    • salt & pepper
  • 100g Cottage cheese
  • 1 tbsp pico de gallo

Snack:
6oz Greek Yogurt & 1/2 cup Blueberries – 150 Calories

Dinner:
Same as lunch: Chicken, Quinoa Salad & Cottage Cheese – 500 calories

Snack:
6oz Greek Yogurt & 1/2 cup Blueberries – 150 Calories

4 thoughts on “Pico De Gallo Recipe

Leave a Reply

