Bitchfest 2013: Welcome to my blog about being a female strength athlete — Hope you enjoy reading about my period!

So yeah, sloooowwwwly but surely I’m getting back on top of my diet. Today was better than the past 4 or 5 days… but still not really up to the level I wanted it to be at regularly. Ya know what would be really awesome? If my period didn’t completely destroy any and all of my motivation… every month. It’s pretty ridiculous how much my hormones control my mood and my self control. And it’s also pretty ridiculous just how much damage a bad week every month can be to your overall goals if you let it. I feel like every month I go in hard, I get into what I’m doing, I start making progress, and then my body (and my brain) SHUTS THE FUCK DOWN and just decides … “Eh, Fuck it.” Then a week later I wake up and I’m like… oh, ok, let’s try this again.

Anyway, I’m trying not to over-think my raging hormonal girl-brain but I am having a really hard time convincing myself that I want to keep cutting weight lately (and my self doubt is manifesting itself in the form of things like “caramel popcorn, pizza, and icecream”). Over the first four weeks of my cut, I got my weight down from 160 to 153 and was feeling very lean and happy with my progress. Then, my period hit and I shot right back up to 158#s and it’s incredibly incredibly frustrating. I kinda suck at sticking with things for more than 4 weeks at a time in general, and I especially suck at sticking with them when I’m not 100% certain that it’s working.  So, for my “progress” to apparently disappear on the 4-5 week mark… totally BLOWS!

I realize leaning out is a slow battle, especially since I am not really overweight and am just trying to push my body into “showing off muscles mode”, but it’s so hard to stay focused! I seriously need to work on my patience levels, but again, its SO hard to stay focused! Gaining muscle was always so easy because I love to lift, eat, and sleep. But cutting… this is a whole other story! So much more willpower needed!! I feel like I need a buddy or a support group or something to help me stay accountable. This blog is great, and so are my gold stars on the refrigerator, but I often feel like I’m talking to myself and, no offense to you guys, but… I can very easily choose to ignore you if I want to.

Anyway, sorry for the rant, I usually try to stay positive, but the past 4 days have been really really hard. I’m going to keep pushing forward with the little motivation that I have, and hopefully these feelings will fade away over the next couple days. They usually do. Fingers crossed next month wont be so hard.

Anyone have have any suggestions for sticking to your goals during your period?

How do you ladies stay on your game?

I feel like it’s impossible to not crumble into a total fucking train-wreck when this hits…. and it “hits” during a quarter of my fucking life!

P.S. Here’s a picture of my massive quads for your entertainment. Yesssssssssssssssssssssss.

Breakfast – protein pancakes Calories Carbs Fat Protein
Egg Beaters – 100% Egg Whites, 7.5 tbsp 63 3 0 13
Oatmeal – Country Style Organic Irish Style Steel Cut Oats, 1/2 cup dry (40g) 150 27 3 4
Kerrygold – Butter, Unsalted, From Grass Fed Cows, 1 Tbsp (14g) 100 0 12 0
Optimum Nutrition – Whey Protein, Gold Standard 100%, Double Rich Chocolate, 30.4 g (1 rounded scoop) 113 2 1 24
Produce – Nectarine, 1 medium / 142g 62 14 0 1
488 46 16 42
Lunch – Sushi
Rice – White, medium-grain, cooked, 1 cup 242 53 0 4
Avocado – Fresh Plain Avocado, 1 oz (28.35g) 45 2 4 0
Generic- Save A Lot – Crab Meat – Imitation, 1 oz 50 0 1 2
Nagai’s – Sushi Nori (Roasted Seaweed), 2 sheet 20 2 0 2
Fish – Tuna Steak, Raw, 3 oz. 92 0 0 21
Aqua Star – Salmon, 3 oz/125 gr 158 0 8 20
607 57 13 49
Dinner – Leftover split pea soup and a couple bites of pizza 
Chicken – Breast, meat only, cooked, roasted, 50 g 83 0 2 16
Great Value – Green Split Peas, 1/4 cup cooked 90 21 0 9
Carrots – Raw, 0.25 cup, chopped 13 3 0 0
Onions – Raw, 1 tbsp chopped 4 1 0 0
New York (Ny) – Cheese Pizza, 0.5 Slice 200 17 5 6
390 42 7 31
Snack 1
Fruit – Banana Small (6″-7″), 1 Banana (110g) 110 24 0 1
110 24 0 1
Snack 2
Optimum Nutrition – Whey Protein, Gold Standard 100%, Double Rich Chocolate, 60.8 g (1 rounded scoop) 240 6 3 46
240 6 3 46
Totals 1,835 175 39 169
  Calories Carbs Fat Protein
Leave a Reply

