Missing Paleo

As I sat on my deck eating a fucking hot dog(!!!!) because it was available, and it was easy, and because the calories would fit my daily allowance, I realized… this is fucking stupid!!!

I’ve been following all of the ‘rules’, counting up all the macros, reading all the labels, and very rarely “cheating” on my new “calorie and macro counting” diet, but it’s fucking stupid. The quality of food I’ve been eating lately has been total ass. I feel like I’m basically starving myself, and on top of that, I am not even doing it with quality foods.  After a 4 months of “not limiting any specific foods”, “practicing moderation”,  and a month of “calorie counting” I am so totally sick of what I’m doing.

I miss the simplicity of paleo — “Say yes to these foods, say no to these foods” IT’S SO EASY! All this weighing, measuring, prepping, counting, adding, subtracting….  BLAH! KILL ME! I am so over it. I work 50-60 hours a week, at an extremely high stress job, and I do not have time for counting calories anymore. I am clearly not cut out to be a body builder and I am TOTALLY OKAY with that.  Hope ya’ll don’t think I’m a quitter for cutting my 10 week challenge early. I’m just not interested in running that experiment anymore.

On a positive note, I did learn a lot about portion sizes over the past few months and I plan to keep working on that. Starting tomorrow however, I need to switch my focus back over to food quality rather than food quantity. I feel gross and my brain is deteriorating thinking about numbers and percentages this much outside of work & lifting. I think simply incorporating the lessons learned about portion sizes will help me continue to lose weight as I approach the powerlifting meet in December. 

  • Protein
    • Meats (grass fed, organic, free range as much as possible)
    • Seafood
    • Eggs
    • Protein Powder
  • Carbs
    • Vegetables
    • Fruits
    • Potatoes & Starchy Tubers
  • Fats
    • Olive Oil
    • Avocados
    • Grass Fed Butter
    • Coconut Milk
    • Heavy Cream
  • Not too often extras
    • Dairy
    • Home made nut breads/baked goods
    • Honey, Agave, Maple Syrup
  • Never
    • Sugar
    • Alcohol
    • Grains
    • Vegetable & Refined Oils

SIDE NOTE: I DO remember that I thought my hormones were fucked up while I was eating Paleo in the past. I haven’t gotten any better since I added all these other foods back into my life, and perhaps, I’ve even gotten worse. I honestly don’t think my mental situation has shit to do with my diet. I think I really just need to get my ass to the doctor to get my ADD/Anxiety dosages checked out.

Relevant Reading: Which Diet Is Right For You?

4 thoughts on “Missing Paleo

  1. My calorie counting/obsessive tracking experience was extremely similar. I just got to be so miserable. I don’t eat Paleo, but now all I do is eat whole foods (with some definite “cheats” here and there) and try to pay attention to my body. It’s been pretty good thus far. I did put on some fat but at least now my ribs aren’t busting through anymore!

    Definitely thinking of cutting grains though (minus alcohol). I can’t seem to control myself around bread and always seem to get some joint inflammation and excessive bloating after eating it.

    • Yeah, not fun! I have always been a big fan of the “Listen to your body” mentality. To some extent that’s probably why I have trouble sticking to any “rules” for an extended period of time. Also probably why I have never been extremely over-or-under weight.

      Counting calories had me feeling like I had an eating disorder and I was just not interested in that feeling anymore.

      Thanks for chiming in. Glad to know I’m not alone 🙂

  2. From one “quitter” to another: Ugh, calorie counting sucks. I’m really glad you had the awareness to say this wasn’t working for you. Seriously, giving up calorie counting lifting a weight off my shoulders. I was doing it for so long that I forgot how to feed myself without it! (I did think it was funny that you started calorie counting right when I had my rant about how I was so over it, lol). I hope you’re feeling a bit better sans hot dog.

    • Yeah… life is just better without all that extra thinking. I’ve never had an unhealthy relationship with food quantity and for the first time in my life I was starting to feel that I was (and sacrificing quality in the process).

      And… I AM feeling better sans hot dog!

Leave a Reply

