Home Cured Corned Beef & Cabbage

Another delicious meal from my amazing chef of a husband — Home Cured Corned Beef!

Again, the recipe he followed was from Michael Ruhlman’s amazing Charcuterie book. I really can’t believe how awesome this book is and how wonderful all the recipes we’ve made have been. So wonderful in fact, that we’ve decided to cook our way through the entire book.  I’m really looking forward to it — SAUSAGE, GRAVLAX, BACON, AND PROSCIUTTO!!! Bring it on 🙂

cornedbeef1

By definition, cured meats are not strict paleo because they are processed (problematically with nitrates, and sugars) but … honestly, I’ve never really enjoyed living life without breaking the rules, and I don’t feel any differently about my meats. My number one dietary goal is to hit 1g of protein for every gram of body weight. Sometimes, every once in a while, hitting my protein intake with a plate of delicious home-cured meats is A-OK with me! If I’m not going to be indulging in wine, beer, or cheese anymore… give me the fancy meats please!

cornedbeef2

Anyway, I enjoyed the corned feef recipe with cabbage, carrots, sweet potatoes and puree’d cauliflower and chives.

Really really spectacular lunch 🙂

3 thoughts on “Home Cured Corned Beef & Cabbage

      • Your photos are so captivating that my mind made up the ham part, lol! I actually have never tried corned beef but definitely am going to now:) I was sold on getting a copy Ruhlman’s book anyways after reading BACON! Oh and Da Bomb breakfast sausage! Whatever that is sounds like a must try.

Leave a Reply

