MMmmmmm Recovery :)

My food and sleep focused Sunday definitely helped. Everything felt much better today 🙂

Breakfast/Pre-lifting: 

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 sweet potato
  • butter
  • double espresso
CUBE — Week 1: Volume Squats

Squats: Worked up to 185# for 1 set of 8. Felt fine.

Good Mornings: 3×8 @ 185#

Pause Squats: 1×5 @ 145#

Walking Lunges: 2 laps (about 20 lunges each way) across the gym @ 25# DBs

High Bar Squats: 1×20 @ 75#

Poor Man’s Prowler: 5 rounds across the cardio room — sprinting 45# plate on a towel

Post-Lifting: 

  • Western Omelette
  • Fruit cup
  • coffee
  • apple

Lunch: 

  • 6oz salmon filet
  • 1/2# brussel sprouts & kale
  • apple

Snack:

  • 2 hard boiled eggs
  • hand-full of almonds

Dinner: 

  • 1/2 a chicken
  • fried plantains
  • black beans

(loving the fact that I ate 8 eggs and a half a chicken today #powerlifting #fuckyeah)

3 thoughts on “MMmmmmm Recovery :)

  1. Do you usually lift low bar back squat? what’s the strength difference you see between low bar and high bar? I Crossfit, but am currently supplementing with a squat cycle of 2 days of front/back squats. My current 1RM is based on a low bar, but so many of the lifts in Crossfit are olympic based so I feel like it would benefit me to run this cycle as high bar.

    sorry for the word vomit, it just caught my eye that you differentiated between squat and high bar and the weight seemed radically different, so I was just wondering how big of a strength difference you’ve noticed…

    • I compete in powerlifting using a low bar back squat, so I train with that primarily. I am much stronger with it — I have never tested my high bar so I don’t know the difference, I imagine I can do probably 215 or something. But nothing anywhere near my 250# low bar max.

      I do train high bar and front squats to develop my quads though, as I am very hamstring dominant. If you are training for aestetics, low bar will give you more glute and hamstring awesomeness. If you are training to kick ass in CrossFit, front squats and high bar will help your Olympic lifts, thrusters, and accessory movements most. If you are looking for pure strength, low bar will develop the most muscles overall. It all depends on what your goals are.

      Thanks for commenting! I checked out your blog, unfortunately we can’t be friends since you hate brussel sprouts 😉

      • Thanks for the feedback! High bar tends to wear on me knees, but I think that has more to do with me needing to work on my core strength to stay upright than anything.

        I know, my lack of loving brussel sprouts has scared many people away. I feel like a health persona impersonator sometimes. Sadly, no matter how I prepare those suckers, I end up dousing them with a liberal amount of ketchup, or something not healthy-defeating the purpose I had of even eating them.

Leave a Reply

