Charred Apples & Almond Crusted Salmon

I suppose sometimes you just need to miss a couple lifts to get your ass back in gear 🙂 I spent most of my day today getting psyched up for the next 10 weeks of my life as I train hard for my next powerlifting meet. I’ve basically spent the past couple of months fucking around – focusing on body composition, conditioning, weight loss, and generally just having fun. I was paying very little attention to my strength needs, but I’m excited to get back into the strength game. I’m currently feeling very proud of a fantastic day — I planned my programming for the next 10 weeks, made some fantastic food for dinner, prepped some more food for later this week, went on a couple long walks with my dog, and spent 30 minutes stretching. Feels good man 🙂 Looking forward to squatting tomorrow.

I made this salmon filet for dinner tonight. It was wonderful. I loved the sweet apples, crunchy nuts, and silky smooth salmon all paired up together. ❤


Ingredients: 

  • 1 pound salmon filet, rinsed and patted dry
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup crushed almonds and walnuts
  • salt pepper
  • 1/2 an apple sliced super thin

Method: 

Pre-heat your grill (or oven… the oven would work fine for this… just wont be so charred) to 400 degrees. While the grill heats up rub the filet with olive oil and salt and then let it sit skin side down in a little puddle of olive oil so that the skin can soak up some extra fat. Crush your nuts (I did it in a plastic zip lock, with a meat tenderizing mallet). Pat the crushed nuts, salt, and pepper onto the fish and add more olive oil if you need to get it to stick to the fish. Top with apple slices.

Throw the fillet on the grill (skin side down — apple side up) and close the grill. Cook until it is finished to your liking — I enjoy my salmon super rare so I only grilled it for about 10 minutes (if that), but if you like it more well done  you should leave it longer. The skin on the bottom and the apples will get very charred, but the flesh of the fish will stay moist and cook evenly.

Remove from grill and enjoy. I had this with some roasted sweet potatoes and kale. If you are in need of some serious protein, you should prooooobably just eat the entire pound of salmon alone in your kitchen with a smile on your face, like I did 😉

Sept 29 Sunday

Breakfast: 4 eggs. 1/2 a plantain. 1/2 tbsp butter

Lunch: 1 cup leftover ground beef with tomato sauce. 12 littleneck clams. 2 tbsp butter. 1/2 a plantain.

Dinner: The recipe above + 1 cup roasted sweet potatoes. 2 cups (raw) sautee’d kale.

2 miles of walking for active recovery. 30 minutes of stretching. 100 push ups program.

2 thoughts on “Charred Apples & Almond Crusted Salmon

Leave a Reply

