Rucking Around New York City

Today Jeff and I did a 10 mile ruck around the city with our dog. It was great, and it totally took my mind off the fact that I need to be away from heavy barbells for a while.

We left our apartment a little after noon, and hiked for about 2 hours and 45 minutes. We walked across Brooklyn, over the manhattan Bridge, through China Town, back into Brooklyn over the Williamsburg Bridge, through the Hasidic Jewish neighborhoods of Brooklyn, and back to our cozy apartment in Crown Heights. It was really fun and super exhausting. I thoroughly enjoyed walking through so many cultural neighborhoods. New York City is a really amazing place when you think about the huge variety of cultures and people you can find within a 10 mile hike. Absolutely astonishing.

Food’s been fine today. I am trying to get things back on track after a weekend of pre-menstrual “Wahhhhh, my back is broken” emotional eating. I had some of Jeff’s home made bread today… but no icecream or anything completely egregious like that 😉 So I’m OK with that. Currently I have a big pot of lamb stew on the stove and I’m definitely looking forward to that!!


Screen Shot 2013-10-14 at 4.31.49 PM

Leave a Reply

