Whole Life Challenge – 2nd Place, on my team

I just completed the 8 week, Whole Life Challenge and came in 2nd place (by 4 points). I was beat by my sister-in-law who really made a very big lifestyle change and I am so so so proud of her. Throughout the challenge, I realized that I am definitely more of an emotional eater than I ever give myself credit for. I don’t binge or anything like that, but there is some serious emotional baggage caught up in my eating habits. I don’t want to get into a major self analysis on this over the internet, but I found it interesting to see my deadlines, life decisions, and menstrual cycle summed up so clearly in a nice neat little graphic spreadsheet 🙂

Screen Shot 2013-11-01 at 11.06.28 PM

Screen Shot 2013-11-01 at 11.06.48 PM

Overall the challenge was great. I didn’t miss a single workout. And I didn’t miss any mobility sessions. Very proud of that. In fact, the only points other than food that I lost, were 1 because I forgot to bring my fish oil camping with me, and 1 because I forgot to spend 10 minutes reading when the lifestyle challenge was reading. I really enjoyed the challenge and see very clearly that sticking to my diet goals is definitely where I tend to fall off the wagon.

In general, I put more emphasis on the workouts, mobility, supplements, and lifestyle challenges than the diet and I’m pretty happy with how it all went. I sometimes like dairy… and I sometimes like rice. And I wasn’t really interested in getting too crazy about it for the sake of this challenge. I wasn’t looking to lose weight, honestly, I initiated this challenge to introduce some healthier lifestyle habits for my co-workers at the office. We all work so late and work so hard, I wanted to try and remind the team that our health is important to the productivity of the group. In the end, I kicked all my co-workers butts, but I think they did really well considering they don’t typically have their entire lives revolve around health and fitness like I do.

Screen Shot 2013-11-01 at 11.10.42 PM

Anyway, it’s over and I ate a big plate of spaghetti and some Halloween candy today, but I’m excited to get back to eating clean tomorrow. Also excited to continue developing my new found active recovery habits. I’ll let you know if I lost any inches (I doubt I did) and if my baseline workout was improved once I do the check in.

Leave a Reply

