Lifting Day!!

I know I said I was going to take 2 weeks between heavy lifting sessions, but I was feeling ready to lift today and I’m out of town looking at houses in Montana next weekend… so I just went for it. Wonderful session all around. Deadlifts weren’t as mind blowingly easy as last week’s were, but … I deadlifted last week, so I expected as much. All in all, I think only lifting heavy once a week, or once every two weeks, is working out really well for me and I am very happy with how my body is feeling lately. Ready to kick some conditioning and cardio ass this week! Might even go on a run! Woahhhh!

P.S. It’s fall in NYC and it is FUCKING BEAUTIFUL!!!!

Breakfast/Pre-Lifting:
1 piece of organic whole wheat sourdough toast
2 eggs
2 slices bacon
1 tsp butter
Coffee with cream (oh my god, so happy to have cream back in my life!)

November 2, 2013 – Lifting Log

Squats: I decided to do highbar squats today rather than lowbar since I have been experiencing some pretty annoying tendonitis in my shoulder/elbow every time I squat lowbar lately. Plus, I want to get a more balanced squat and I think getting a bit more development in my quads is going to be good for me ::ahem:: plus I like having big quads ::ahem:: 😉

Warm Up:
45×10
95×5
135×5
155#3
185×1

Work:
205×5
205×5
205×5

These felt pretty good today. VERY hard, but this is a pretty heavy weight for me at LowBar … let alone high bar. Felt really happy to have made all the lifts smoothly!

Bench: Bench ROCKED today! I haven’t benched in two weeks and I was feeling pretty great about my numbers afterward. This was a massive volume PR and one I am so so so excited to have hit.

Warm Up:
45×5
65×5
85×3
95×1

Work:
100×6
100×6
100×5 (missed 6th rep)

Max reps at 100# up until today was 3. So this was really great! My pr is 105# and I am feeling very confident that I can beat it next time I test. Thank you push-ups!!

PowerCleans:
Just fucked around up to about 50Kilos.

Deadlifts: 

Felt fine today. My back was feeling achy by the end, so I didn’t do any more singles.

Warm Up:
135 x 5
185 x 3

Volume:
185 x 10

Heavy Sets:
225 x 2
245 x 1
265 x 1

Chin Ups:
A bunch of singles. I’m going to start doing something else for these soon since my current plan of just doing reps whenever I feel like it has slowed down and I’m not feeling like I’m progressing anymore. Perhaps I’ll go back to doing some super slow negatives again, or maybe practicing kipping a bit to get a little more explosive with getting moving from a dead hang. I feel like I am definitely lacking in the lat department.

Conditioning:
50 burpees. Broken up into sets of 5 or 10.

Lunch/Post-lifting:
1 chicken taco
2 steak tacos
1 small salad
2 tiny pieces of chocolate

Dinner:
Ribs
Kale
other things TBD

Leave a Reply

