New Gym!! 5,3,1 – 5 week, squats

My new gym equipment arrived yesterday!! So, instead of doing a workout, I spent the evening carrying weights, racks, bars, and plywood from the garage to the basement. Fun! Heavy! Exhausting! Then after all the moving of heavy things, I BUILT A PLATFORM! WOOO! The new set up is totally awesome and I am super duper excited about starting my new training cycle.

New Pendlay rack, bar, and kilo plates 🙂 Life is goooooddddd!

Jeff, and the gym in progress

Roki helps weigh down the platform

As for programming, Today I started my first week of 5,3,1, with a first-set-last AMRAP for my secondary work, and Strong 350 for my accessory work. Planning to run this for a few weeks/months and see how I like it. I have enjoyed 5,3,1 in the past and am looking forward to running it for a while.

Yesterday:
I ate a bunch of crockpot food. It was a roast, with potatoes, carrots, and brown rice.

Today:
Breakfast:
1 egg
1/2 cup dry – cream of the west, 7 grain cream of wheat with butter and milk.

Lunch:
8oz chicken breast
1 cup cooked rice
1/4 cup black beans

Week 1 – 5’s Week: Squats & Lower Accessory

Squats:
Warmup:
Bar x lots
40 kilos x 10
60 kilos x 5

Work:
70 kilos x 5
75 kilos x 5
85 kilos x 5

70 kilos x 10 (I had a few more in me, but I kinda just got ansy to stop and did… racked it, took a breather and took another 4 reps)

Accessory Work: 

Hip Thrusts
60 kilos, 3 rounds, AMRAP + 2 min rest

      • 8 reps (HOLY FUCK. OUCH! I NEED A PAD UNDER THE BAR!!! … went and got one)
      • 12 reps
      • 10 reps

Will retake this weight next time I do this.

RDLs:
60 kilos, 3 rounds, AMRAP + 2 min rest

      • 12 (grip was the limiting factor)
      • 10 (grip)
      • 8 (grip)

Going to retake this weight. It felt super light, so it was kinda dumb to be failing on grip. May use straps next time just so that I can get more hamstring work.

Row: 

1000 meter row – 4:45.
Took it easy on this one today, but good conditioning either way. Didn’t die of a caughing fit afterward. Horray!

First workout in 2 weeks… Looking forward to being very sore tomorrow 😉

Dinner:
3oz chicken breast
1 baked potato with sour cream, butter, and cheddar cheese

Snack:
Protein pancakes

  • 1/4 cup pumpkin
  • 2 scoops whey
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp oats
  • maple syrup
  • butter
Leave a Reply

