Sobriety

So, I’m keeping this post short because I don’t really want to talk about it much. That said, I feel like I should put it on here… I fell off the wagon over the holidays and put an end to my 8 month sober streak. I tried to convince myself that it was OK for me to drink, that I deserve to be normal, and that I can do what I want, but, after a week of being “normal”, I am feeling run-down, ashamed of my choices, and not very strong under the barbell. My body doesn’t like drinking. My brain doesn’t either. I need to remember that when the alcoholic half of my genes start trying to take over.

Anyway, I am jumping back on the wagon, and will try not to fall for my own mental tricks in the future.  I’m just going to pick up where I left off and try to learn from my mistakes.

5 thoughts on “Sobriety

  1. You are a strong woman and the fact that you can even recognize A) what went wrong and B) how you feel about it….you’re unstoppable. We all slip and we all have that voice in our heads that tries to throw us onto the tracks. Now you recognize it more fully and that’s a good thing. Onward and upward!

  2. Heavy drinking typically leads to poor decisions and hangovers, both of which don’t seem worth it. Don’t sweat it too much, dust yourself off, and keep on moving in the direction you really want to go.

Leave a Reply

