Skiing & Week 2 Day 1 Smolov Jr.

Breakfast:
1/2 cup (dry) 7 grain cream of the west
1/4 cup milk
Butter
2 kiwis

Skiing – 1 green route, 1 terrible journey down the lift path… then quitting

I went skiing with Jeff this morning to enjoy the fresh snow we got last night. It was beautiful up on the mountain but I was SUCKING ASS today, haha. Turns out skiing while menstruating is actually 1000x worse than lifting while menstruating. When your lifting on your period, it’s mostly the physical discomfort and weakness that makes it miserable. When you’re skiing, you have all that fun stuff… plus the emotional pitfalls of being a hormonal basketcase.

Over my past few ski sessions I’ve realized that, skiing (much like Olympic lifting) is ALL about confidence and bravery. If you think you’ve got it, you’ve got it. If you don’t, you don’t. If you’re feeling good, reminding yourself that “it’s OK to go fast”, not worrying about your skis being too tight, rolling with the hills, and letting gravity help you along… it’s fucking great! BUT, as soon as you start getting scared, or convince yourself that you’re out of your element, you’re head first in a pile of snow. Today was that kind of day. I was just feeling weak, nervous, and scared… hormones were out of whack… and it made doing the simple green runs that I have done many times over the past few weeks REALLY difficult. Plus, I think there was an unexpected learning curve to skiing in fresh powder. Anyway, after falling a few times, getting trapped in a 3′ deep pile of snow, not being able to get back into my damn skis, and generally feeling like I was going to die the entire way down the mountain… I broke down crying and quit. ::sigh:: oh well.

Anyway, as hard as it was, I enjoy the challenge. I think I’m going to go back tomorrow to try again 🙂

Lunch:
Hash-browns (1 potato, 1/4 onion, 1 tbsp oil)
2 eggs
1 piece of string cheese

Snack/Pre-Lifting:
2 home made banana nut oatmeal muffins (YUMMMM!!!!)

Week 2 Day 1 Smolov Jr. Squat & Bench

Lifting was much much more successful than skiing! This is a world I am much more comfortable with. Stable. Feet on the ground. Easy. Dumb. Love it. Feels good bra.

I started the second week of Smolov Jr today and it felt really great. I decided not to make up the missed squats from last week  — instead, I just took the extra recovery and moved on with the program.

Squat: 6 sets of 6 @ 80Kilos (5 kilo jump from last week)

My squats felt WAY easier than last week’s 6×6. Felt good.

Bench: 6 sets of 6 @ 38 Kilos (3 kilo jump from last week)

These felt significantly harder than last week’s, but no grinds and nothing unmanageable.

Still really enjoying the program and am feeling pretty good with all the lifts. I think my form has improved dramatically over the past week  and I really love that. It’s nice to get so much practice that any thoughts about the motion just drop to the way-side.

Post-Lifting:
2 cups garlicy green beans
2 spare ribs

Dinner:
6oz Chicken Breast
1 cup Broccoli

Dessert:
Banana Nut Muffin
String Cheese

Leave a Reply

