Massive Weekend Update

Well, I kinda just… didn’t post all weekend. Not really sure why. I didn’t really do much. I wasn’t really busy. I just, didn’t feel like typing, I guess.

I took the weekend off from lifting to give myself a bit of extra recovery before starting the 3rd and final week of Smolov Jr. I have to say, I am a little sad to be nearing the end of this program since I am really enjoying it and I’m not sure what I want to do next. I’ve decided that I will definitely test my lifts afterward… because… why not really? I am excited for that, but still not sure what comes after that.

Here’s the rundown on the weekend: ENJOY!

Saturday:

Breakfast of eggs, lunch of leftover pizza, and then home made ramen for dinner! (woah!) I was feeling ambitious in the kitchen, so I decided to make my own ramen from scratch. Turns out, I am not a natural born noodle master, BUT I can make a decent bowl of ramen for a white girl. It took literally all day and I poured my sweat blood and tears into this soup.

Home made beef broth, with onion, garlic, celery, and a giant beef bone

The noodles – which I followed this recipe for. SO HARD TO KNEED AND ROLL. I would recommend only following this recipe if you are really dedicated… also, if you have a pasta machine. 

Finished product – absolutely amazing!

Sunday:

After getting a bunch of snow on Saturday, Jeff and I spent sunday morning skiing!! Getting better and better every time I go! Did the small blue route without falling this time. And I only fell once the whole day. BOOYA.

Up up and away!

Pretty snowy view from the drive up

My hair was totally frozen into icicles 

Monday:

Ugh, so much work today. I have a deadline at work so this week is going to be chaos… remember when I thought I’d be done Smolov Jr just in time to rest this week? Well, I was wrong. I am finishing it just in time for the heavy week to line up with my deadlines. Awesome. Anyway lifting was great today. Took a 10k jump on squats this week since last weeks were pretty easy, we’ll see how that pans out later this week but it felt great today. No problems at all.

Breakfast:
French toast

  • 1 slice sourdough
  • 2 eggs
  • milk
  • cinnamon
  • nutmeg
  • butter
  • maple syrup

Grilled 1/2 Banana
coffee… forever… so much coffee today

Snack:
string cheese

Lunch:
Stir fry thing

  • 1 cup brown rice
  • beef broth
  • carrots
  • pork
  • pepper
  • mushrooms
  • Brocoli
  • 1 tsp Bacon Fat

Pre-Lifting:
2 scoops whey
1/4 cup brown rice

Week 3 Day 1 Smolov Jr. Squat & Bench:

Squat: 6 sets of 6 @ 90Kilo(198#) Felt pretty easy. Last reps of last set were hard, but not bad.

Bench: 6 sets of 6 reps @ 40Kilo(88#) Again, pretty easy.

I anticipate the rest of this week being quite challenging. Every day will be PRs for volume (for a single set… let alone the 7,8,10 sets I will have to do). EXCITING! Pretty sure today’s squats were a PR actually, but I’m not really sure. Anyway, super happy with how things are going.

I took videos of todays lifts but my phone is a fuck-face and wont let me upload them to the computer… oh well. Squats looked really good, depth was really good, everything looked tight.

Dinner/Post-Lifting:
1 cup cottage cheese
1/2 of a grilled cheese sandwich (I need to go grocery shopping really bad)

5 thoughts on “Massive Weekend Update

    • I am considering doing that for bench press, but I think the load will be too much on my joints to continue another cycle with squats. It’s not a program that’s meant to be done back to back because of the very high volume and intensity.

Leave a Reply

