Last Day of Smolov Jr.

I’m done! I am feeling, far too proud of myself for completing this program. Like seriously, it’s 3 weeks long. It really shouldn’t be such a big deal…but for whatever reason, it is. I think it has less to do with the weights (though I am feeling MUCH stronger) and more to do with the fact that it was a challenging program that had me lifting heavier than I generally like to, every single session…. and I didn’t give up. I didn’t CHOOSE to give up. I CHOSE to continue. I CHOSE to stick with it, even though it was hard, and my whole body was sore and achy.

Screen Shot 2014-01-20 at 8.38.26 PM

 

Since leaving SBWC (and honestly… before that more than ever), I have felt very lost in my training. Well, not exactly lost… but not exactly sure what the hell I was doing… kinda just fucking around… jumping from program to program…getting injured… not making real progress… not feeling confident in my goals…etc.

When I moved to Montana, however, I felt like I had to make a choice — Either I was going to continue to fuck around forever and not make much of myself in the strength world — OR — I was going to get focused and get fucking serious about hitting my goals. I made a choice that I was going to work hard. Starting Smolov Jr. felt like a small way of manifesting that choice into a reality.

I had a good solid think before my last set of squats today…. a real “come to Jesus moment”. I thought really hard about how difficult I anticipate the future of my training to be, and how I honestly can’t wait for it, because I fucking WANT IT. Even though I know it is going to be rough at times, and I’m going to feel fat and non-girly, and I might not be making as much progress as I dreamed. It doesn’t matter. I’m not going to question my decision to put my strength before anything else, because I WANT IT. I am not going to give up. I’m not going to let myself. I want to be great. I want to be strong. I want to be the best.

Anyway, today I finished this little program and I feel stronger than ever. I feel more ready than I have ever felt to dive into my training and make something of myself. I am feeling really proud of myself and confident in my decisions.

I couldn’t be happier with where I am 🙂

Breakfast:
2 slices of home-made Orange, Raisin & Molasses sourdough bread – with butter
2 slices of ham
1 orange
coffee with cream

Screen Shot 2014-01-20 at 8.39.10 PM

Lunch:
Protein shake

Pre-Lifting:
2 slices of the same bread as above
1 slice of ham
1 banana

Week 3 Day 4 Smolov Jr. Squat and Bench

Squat: 10 sets of 3 @ 105kilos (231#) – 105Kilos is my current meet PR. REALLY happy to hit this for 10 tripples. Pretty amazing actually.

Bench: 10 sets of 3 @ 48Kilos (105.6#) – This is 5# over my current meet PR. Also it is the weight that I was stalled at for a single (that I could barely hit regularly) for over a year! I worked on a new set up based on a video from my coach  today, and this felt like NOTHING. SO EASY. I can’t believe how much easier it felt actually. Totally blew my mind.

I am floored with the volume progress on my squat and bench. I will be taking the rest of the week off to rest and then testing this weekend. Hopefully all this volume work translates into some new 1RMs 🙂

Post-Lifting/Dinner:
6oz rib eye steak
1 baked potato with butter

Dessert: Something fucking awesome

8 thoughts on “Last Day of Smolov Jr.

  1. Love this post. Especially the ‘come to Jesus’ comment. LOL that encapsulates why I keep lifting. THAT is the reward, ‘fat and non-girly’ pshaw. you want it and you’re not going to give up. Ah, so great! keep on with that keeping on 🙂

Leave a Reply

