In the beginning….

After a week off, I finally got to lift today! I started my new programming, and it felt really good to get back under the bar. I love lifting weights so stupidly much. I don’t understand why, but nothing makes me happier.

After talking to Coach Matt for a bit today, I have been contemplating competing soon. He pointed out that if I can get a total in any USAPL competition, I would qualify for Raw Nationals in Denver. I was unaware of that. I thought I had already missed my chance when I didn’t compete in December. Either way,  There are no meets in Montana, so I would have to travel somewhere. There is a competition in South Dakota in March, and one in Alaska in April. Neither are particularly convenient but both could make a nice long weekend trip. I’m not sure yet, but I’m thinking about it, and will probably make a decision this week. Honestly, I would LOVE to travel to Alaska… and this might be a good excuse to do so 😉

Screen Shot 2014-02-04 at 7.18.17 PMThe Girls

Breakfast:
2 eggs
1 cup kale
1/4 an onion
1/2 a tomato
1 tsp olive oil

Snack:
2 pieces string cheese
1 apple

Pre-Lifting/Lunch:
2 scoops whey
1 banana

W1 D1 w/ Matt — Squats & Deadlifts

Mobility: 10 minutes of calf and ankle work

Squats:
1×5@20k
1×5@60k
1×3@72K
5×5@84K  – Bah! These were surprisingly hard today. Not really sure why, but I am assuming it the combination of — not wearing my belt (because new programming says no belt until 80%… and this was 70%), it being my first day back in a while, and being on my period. My knees were a wobbly, caving in, mess! Lots of fun squat-mornings too. Things got better as the sets went on, but the first set caught be off guard, completely. Either way… YAY SQUATS!

Video:
http://instagram.com/p/kBDeSuuGEa/

Deadlifts:
1×5@60K
1×3@83K
12×1@100K – Today was my first time deadlifting in a couple months (other than when I totaled). It felt great! Thoroughly enjoyed doing all these singles. Feels good man! After watching all my videos, I think I am going to work on keeping my weight back a little bit. The ones that I did that on were the smoothest. I think I have a tendency to end up too far over the bar when I set up.

Video:
http://instagram.com/p/kBBRDNOGBh/

GoodMornings: 3×15@20k
Weighted Sit ups: 3×15@10k

Post-Lifting/Dinner:
1 cup of baked chicken breast
1 cup of rice
2 cups of kale

Snack/Dessert:
1 cup cottage cheese
1 orange

Leave a Reply

