Thrice Used Chicken – A Poem by Lana Z.

Friday
Baked Chicken Pieces

Friday:
A whole chicken,
cut into pieces,
on sale,
at the grocer.

I decided to roast the chicken.
It was a delicious chicken.
I coated it with salt,
pepper,
lemon zest,
fresh thyme,
and lots,
LOTS,
of butter.

I roast it in the oven.
At around 400 degrees.
Give or take 30 minutes.

The skin was crisp.
The meat was juicy.

I ate it with risotto.
And, I LOVED it.
My husband and I at the juicy thighs.
The tender legs.
Even the little bits of crunchy meat on the wings.
Low and behold however, we could not finish.
Our bellies were full.

I left the breasts for another day.
I fed the skin to the dogs.
I looked at the bones…

“Perhaps I’ll save these”

Saturday
Chicken Stock

I looked at the cold chicken in the tupperware, in the fridge…
It just didn’t look as savory anymore.
No longer crispy,
hot, or juicy
Instead… cold,
and almost gelatinous on the edges.
YUCK.

“Let’s be honest here. I’m not going to eat this as it is” I said.

I pulled the remaining meat off the bones.
I put it in the fridge for something else.
Maybe chicken salad.
Maybe a soup.
Maybe chicken tacos.
Who knows!

The bones go in a pot.
Carrots,
Celery,
ONION!
BAY LEAF!!

Water.

I boil it all.
I simmer it all.
12 hours goes by and I SIMMER IT ALL!

I strain the juice from the broth.
I refrigerate it.

Sunday
With a case of the sniffles
Chicken and Dumpling Soup 

The chicken,
off the bones,
shredded,
waiting to be used.

The stock,
in a pot,
waiting to be used.

Shredded Chicken goes in a pot
Sweet Potatoes,
Carrots,
Celery,
ONION!
BAY LEAF!!

STOCK.

I boil it all.
I simmer it all.
30 minutes goes by and I SIMMER IT ALL!

Just at the end, right as I thought I was finished…
Jeff demanded dumplings.

Flour,
Water,
Salt & Baking Powder

PLOP PLOP PLOP
Simmer Simmer Simmer
YUM.

Leave a Reply

