Training going well!

Bah! So earlier this week I was feeling… mediocre (at best) about my training. My back injury had been emotionally draining and making me feel like my trip to Alaska is a rather large expense for what may not be able to be a great performance. Somewhat stressful to say the least.

That said, after a week of being back under the bar my back has been feeling surprisingly great — no pain in the morning, no pain after squatting, no pain WHILE deadlifting… kind of amazing considering how awful it was a week ago. It’s good news, however, it is also very confusing because I don’t want to push too hard and re-injure it. I also don’t want to go too easy on myself and just live in fear. Tricky. Auto-regulating and listening to your body can be quite challenging when your body is constantly throwing you mixed signals. Anyway, I’ve never been one to see the glass half empty so… AWESOME, things are feeling good!! Fingers crossed they will stay that way!

Seriously big sky out in Big Sky today

Saturday Training: 

Squat:
1×5@20K, 1×5@60K, 1×3@80K, 1×3@90K, 2×2@100K, 2×3@105K 

Deadlift:
1×5@70K, 1×3@80K, 1×1@100K, 1×5@110K

Abs: Flutter kicks forever

Diet has been pretty good. I’ve been eating really wonderful, high nutrient, high protein, low calorie, lots of veggies, for breakfast, lunch, and snacks, and then allowing myself to enjoy a good hearty home made dinner with Jeff of whatever kind we decide. So far I have really been enjoying it. I feel like I’m eating well, but I don’t feel deprived or like my diet is holding me back from enjoying fun kitchen time with Jeff.


Short Ribs and home made egg noodles for dinner last night

Other self-improvement goals have been going well too. I’ve been getting lots of floor stretching in (basically replacing TV on the couch, with TV on a blanket on the floor…. stretching just starts to happen naturally down there). I have also been going on a lot more walks & hikes, and enjoying more time with Jeff and the dogs than with my office 😉 As much as I love my job, it is exhausting, and life is just better when I don’t let it get into my personal time too much.

In other news we bought a new truck!! WOOO! 2014 Toyota Tacoma 4×4 TRD Off Road! We’ve been playing in the mud all weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

