Not just Mothers Day…. BENCH DAY!

I don’t have any kids, and my mom is across the country so I didn’t do anything special today, other than benchpress (which is always special). It was a great lifting session, weights were relatively light, but I had a lot of fun.

My mom and I, back when it was cool to just hang out naked.

Week 1 Day 4 – SSPT Training for Raw Nationals

Bench: worked up to 5×5@ 38K. I went close grip today just cuz it was light and I felt like it.  I focused my training specifically on getting my arch up tighter and making sure I used my leg drive on every press. I often forget about that until it’s heavy and I want to train myself to use it all the time to help get stronger

Long Pause Bench – 3 second: 3×3@36K Eaassy breezy.

Accessory Work: Superset 3×8, Jumping Pull ups, Push-ups, and Pendlay Rows @ 40K. All of these movements were WAY easier than they were on Tuesday. I am looking forward to progressing further on all of them 🙂

As I pumped out my push-ups I felt nostalgic about the fact that couldn’t do one single push-up when I first started training. I have grown a lot over the past 3 years.

Sunday Food Log:

Breakfast: 

Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 7.32.28 PM

2 poached eggs
1 oz ham
2 cups baby spinach
2 pieces asparagus
1 thin slice home made sourdough w/ butter
coffee w/ cream

Snack:
CANDY!!! Jeff and I went to the candy store in town and went nuts buying every caramel, licorice, gummy, and chocolate we could find. I didn’t eat much, but I am stocked up for the next couple months haha.

Lunch:
3.5oz tilapia
big salad
leftover risotto
asparagus

Dinner:
8.5oz bbq chicken breast
1/2 a sweet potato

I am super low on calories today so I will probably eat something else tonight.. not sure what. Maybe a glass of wine and some fruit & cheese… something. Not sure yet.

Leave a Reply

