Erry Day I’m Hustlin’

BAH, despite my massive hormonal mania and some stomach churning cramps, today’s training session ROCKED. I seriously just love squatting and deadlifting with all my heart ❤ ❤ ❤ Diet was meh, I kinda suck at sticking to my goals when I’m on my period… I just need more calories, I think. Whatever. I try not to stress too much about calories and the such…especially on my menstruating deadlift days.

Week 4, Day 1 – SSPT Training for Raw Nationals

Squats: Worked up to 6×4@90K(198#) Beltless. BOOMSAUCE! No big comments. Working still to keep my chest up when coming out of the hole, I think this will forever be an issue for me and my giant hamstrings. Primary focus today, however, was on making sure I kept my back flat and wasn’t hyperextending. I received a comment on facebook questioning why I am flexing it on my set up, and I honestly hadn’t considered that I was doing it. That said,  I probably shouldn’t be doing that while setting up because it may be “setting me up” (no pub intended) to arch my back in a bad way while squatting (a habit I have worked hard to eradicate) . Either way, after taking a better look today, I think it was fine and I didn’t feel anything, or see anything in my videos, that made me concerned. I did work to keep my back flatter during my set-up today.

Deadlifts: Worked up to 8×1@115K(253#) Beltless. This felt AWESOME! This is a huge beltless PR (Up from 225 last month, and 230 last week). This could possibly a volume PR too. I don’t think I’ve ever pulled 250 for more than a few reps. Yes these were singles, but it was still a significant amount of work and I am very proud for having completed it without any rounding in my back at all. I continued to work on the chest up/shoulders in my pockets cue and it was great.

Accessory Work: Lunges in the grass, and leg raises on my porch.

Food Log, Tuesday: 

Breakfast:
3 eggs
3oz ham
sprinkle of cheese
onions, peppers, pico-de-gallo
butter

Lifting:
2 bananas

Lunch/Post-Lifting:
6 oz chicken breast
mayo
onions, celery, peppers
2 slices sourdough bread

Dinner: 

Screen Shot 2014-05-27 at 8.40.32 PM

An enormous home-made bacon double cheeseburger 🙂 NOMMM!!!
2 beers

Dessert:
3 chocolate chip cookies

 

Leave a Reply

